Tanya's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Slightly crunchy on the outside, but nice and soft on the inside. Good flavor too. I left out the almond extract (per other users suggestions), and I cooked them for around 11 minutes instead of 8, but I love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
TIP for squishing the cookies: My mother always used to grease the bottom of a water glass and use that to squish them down. I did that and it worked well - then you don't get the fork impressions. This cookie was the best recipe ever. I loved it. I took it to my son's school party and the teachers and parents all took some home. My husband ate about 30 in 2 days. I DID change the almond extract to 1/8 of what it asks for. I used the original 50 servings instead of the 25 it has been changed to and I WAS worried my little mixer would blow the motor. It is a very thick dough and if you just have a regular home mixer you might want to do only 25 at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
One of my favorite cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I have made these several times and they are a great cookie in my opinion. My husband took them to work, I made them for a cookie exchange, and my daughter sold them at the bake sale. Her teacher made so many comments. I have been asked for the receipe several times. The cookie is harder on the outside (a touch) and cake like on the inside. My husband prefers his cookies this way. I will admit...I did make a mistake the first time I made them...I added a tbl of almond extract instead of a teaspoon. Oops. However, if you like the almond taste (as we do) I actually preferred it this way. I continue to put in the tablespoon :) I guess it is more of an almond cookie than a snickerdoodle, but I love them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
I took these to a baby shower, and everybody LOVED them! They're so light and fluffy! I omitted the almond extract and added some cinnamon to the batter. I also added a tsp of vinegar in place of the cream of tartar. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel N Alta Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I would give this a five but without the almond extract. They do come out nicely crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I baked them on parchment paper and the bottoms were nice and didn't stick to the pan. Also when they came out of the oven, I sprinkled a little extra topping on them while they were hot and it gave a little extra crunch to it. I agree with the other reviewer too that pushing the balls down a little gives a fuller cookie. Also you don't need to refrigerate the dough for 2-3 hours. Thirty minutes is sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Hagedorn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This cookie is ok . Not oustanding . I can taste the flour al ittle and the brown sugar clumps when you make hte sugar mixture . I had to sift it for it to blend wiht hte white sugar and cinnamon . Also it took 15 minutes to cook not 8 and they didn't flatten well . Also the top didn't crack like a snickerdoodle should . I think i might look for a different recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Colleen Wilson
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This was the first time making snickerdoodles, but they are one o the few cookies I enjoy. I softened the butter and did everything that was stated. The dough was pretty sticky, but got firm in the freezer enough to form a ball. I made the balls somewhat flat, but next time I will leave them as balls to make the cookies more puffy. I left out the almond extract because I didn't have any, and I would think it would mess with the delicate flavors. All in all great cookie, but make sure you do NOT overcook them! Also, put a piece of bread /apple in the bag/jar that you store them in to keep the cookies soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alpine, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I made these cookies today and they are great just followed the recipe and did not change anything. I have made these cookies twice and they are very good and did not change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
I never really liked Snickerdoodles. They always seemed like bland cinnamon sugar cookies. For Father's Day this year I decided to make some for my dad since theyre one of his favorites. So I found this one and thought I would give it a whirl. I made my dough late in the evening so I just let it sit in the fridge overnight. While I was making them, between my hubby and I, we probably ate ten. They were delicious! They were so good, that my dad only got a few because everyone at our family BBQ for Fathers Day kept coming back for more. They were gone in less than an hour! I did half the Almond extract and put 1 tsp of cinnamon in my flour though and had to make another batch of the coating because that wasnt enough. So Im baffled as to where all the negative reviews for these are coming from. In a big family of picky eaters, for these cookies to have gone over so well they have to be good! Also, I had lost this recipe and wanted to make them again, but I couldnt remember the name, only the picture that was on the site. I almost got a different recipe thinking it was this one because the picture that came up when I searched for them threw me off! Thank goodness I noticed that one didnt use almond extract. But most importantly, these cookies are amazing, and you must have done something wrong on the recipe to not like them. Thank you for this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States