Tanya's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
I used to work at a bakery and snickerdoodles were a customer favorite. I could never figure it out because I found those cookies to be dry, flat, and only vaguely cinnamon-y. I tried this recipe because my husband loves snickerdoodles and this was the first one that popped up on my search....And I need search no further. These cookies are fabulous. A slight crunch on the outside, a light texture on the inside that literally melts in your mouth. I omitted the almond extract because I detest the flavor, and I added a teaspoon of cinnamon to the flour. I also recommend using Saigon cinnamon (I think Spice Island is the brand I use)if you really enjoy a powerful cinnamon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These cookies are WONDERFUL!!! They beat my other recipe hands down! They are moist with a wonderful taste and texture. My whole family loves them. My husband brought some to work, and there were requests for more. By the way, I didn't have any almond extract, so I just made them with the vanilla extract. I'm looking forward to trying them with the addition of almond extract. ****Following up 6 years later to say I did make them with the almond extract the next time, and the time after that, and the time after that....This is my most highly requested cookie recipe. The real secret is to take them out when they look not quite done. They will cook as they sit outside the oven on the cookie sheet, and will be crisp on the outside and soft on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
I didn't like these cookies at all.The almond extract was very overpowering.Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodle recipe from this site has a much better flavor and looks picture perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
This is by far the best snickerdoodle recipe I have ever tasted!! I will continue to make this recipe over and over. One hint, flatten the cookie dough out a bit before putting in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made one of the other highly rated Snickerdoodle recipes last week; they were hard and just OK. My sister called them hockey pucks. ;-) Yesterday I tried this recipe; it is excellent!! I eliminated the almond extract, and I like smaller cookies, so I rolled smaller balls, they were soft and just so delish!! I'm wondering the origin of the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
I really enjoyed these cookies. My mom always made these cookies but I must say, mine have a little extra crunch on the outside and softness in the inside.. I doubled the recipe and had no problems!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
These are terrible. I followed this recipe exactly, my 13 year old daughter will testify to that, since she helped me, and for the life of me, I don't know how a 5 star rating came about on this cookie. They were so awful. I mean BAD. Perhaps the almond extract makes them even worse, but this cookie had a hard doughy taste without much taste of anything else. Since it called for a 2 hour chill, I not only wasted ingredients, but time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
These were good and my family loved them...I was not too impressed. They were not as good as I remembered from my childhood. Not spicy enough. I will make these again, but next time I will use more spice. Also, I rolled mine in SMALL balls, sugared them, then made them flat with the back of a spoon. The texture was GREAT! Thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
These were very good cookies. The recipe made way too many cookies then I need though. It became a big waste. Also You can really taste the almond extract. next time i make them i may put less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Not very good. Had a very doughy/ floury aftertaste. Did not flatten into cookies. Bad taste. More like Almond EXTRACT cookies. Even my boyfriend's friends who will eat anything off the floor left untouched.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States