Tanya's Snickerdoodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I didn't sift the dry ingredients and I didn't let it chill at all. I also added a little extra cinnamon and sugar to the mixture I rolled the dough in. They came out soft and chewy a bit which is exactly what I was hoping for. After I put the dough on the cookie sheet I pressed it down a bit. They were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was a big hit, and I will make them again. I did think a bit of nutmeg would be good so I added it to the sugar/cinnamon mixture. Next time, I think I'll add a bit to the dough. Maybe an 8th tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fanwood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candace Makela Photography
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My sons and I made these delicious cookies. I haven't been a fan of snickerdoodles in the past, but these are wonderful! The almond and vanilla add a wonderful flavor. They turned out perfectly and my family loved them! It took 10-11 minutes for these cookies to bake. I live at sea level so this may be why it took longer. Putting the dough in the refrigerator for about 1 hour made it easy to work with. After the cookies have cooled, put them in a covered container to keep them soft. If you like them crunchy, cover them with wax paper and leave out overnight. Great recipe! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Makela Photography

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Port Townsend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made one of the other highly rated Snickerdoodle recipes last week; they were hard and just OK. My sister called them hockey pucks. ;-) Yesterday I tried this recipe; it is excellent!! I eliminated the almond extract, and I like smaller cookies, so I rolled smaller balls, they were soft and just so delish!! I'm wondering the origin of the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Sperlunto Zadroga

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
I give this recipe a FIVE star. In the beginning, I have to say I had my doubt the way the dough turned out. When I trusted in all those good reviews and tried it out. They turned out to be the best thing. Crunchy and yet moist at the same time. Absolutely love these. Now, I have to figure out how I can restrain myself from eating them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chawsuu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. I added a little cinnamon to the batter, but also found that I need to add more flour next time. The dough was very sticky and soft even after refrigerating it for a couple of hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yuma, Arizona, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Very tasty. I left out the almond extract as well and didn't sift the dry ingredients but the cookies still tasted great. Like everyone else's mine were a little crunchy on the edges and soft inside. I might add a little more brown sugar next time. I didn't really taste it much following the recipe. Also, I added a dash of nutmeg to the batter and it gave it a nice hint of the spice. I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
These are the best snickerdoodles ever! They are the perfect blend of chewy and crispy, cinnamony and sweet. Absolutely fantastic! I replace the almond extract with extra vanilla and they still taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I had doubts, but these are perfect, even the next day they're still soft. I agree.. decrease cream of tartar to 1 teaspoon and use another teaspoon of cinnamon and T of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kissthecook
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
My family has been making these for a while. The recent batch we made was on christmas eve. We decorated them by rolling the dough in red and green colored sugar. Also, I got incredibly frustrated and tired with sifting so I decided to skip the step and see how they would turn out. The result was a flatter, chewy cookie which appealed even better to myself because I don't fancy cakey fluffy cookies. I give this recipe a four because if you actually follow the recipe with the sifting they bake up that cakey way. Also, they dry out incredibly too fast in my opinion, which makes them good only a few days after being baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

If you love cookies with crispy edges and soft centers, these are for you.

Snickerdoodles I

These classic, top-rated snickerdoodles are rolled in cinnamon sugar.

Tanya’s Date Cake

See how a delicious date cake brings a brother and sister together.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States