Tante's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving - truly delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a standard 9x11 casserole dish...best with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe for our family. I made a gluten free version (which is easy to do because of the amount of flour used) substituting 3/4c rice flour, 1/4c potato starch and 1/4c tapioca starch for the all-purpose flour in the crust and just rice flour in the topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I also made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and it was delicious and very simple to make. Add a scoop of pecan ice cream on top and its perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I ysed this filling with a traditional pie pastry... simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megapixie
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My husband won't let me make any other apple pie now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found that after I covered the pie for last 25 minutes, the topping turned to liquid. It didn`t quite have the look I wanted but, tasted good. Maybe I should have just covered the edges. Live and learn. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dngrwllrbnsn
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This was delicious!! I didn't have white sugar or lard on hand, or unsalted butter. I used light brown sugar and made it 1/2 cup of butter (instead of 1/4 butter 1/4 lard), and used a pinch less salt in the crust. I split the butter in half, cold, and chopped into small cubes. I melted half of those, then put them in the freezer to quick cool (does not need to be frozen). Made crust in food processor with the cold butter (key for perfect flaky crust). Just don't overprocess, it should be clumpy, not fine powder. It should fall apart when shaken, but mold together if you squeeze it in your palm. I also added 1/4 tsp vanilla extract & 1/4 cup finely chopped pecans to the crust, and another 1/3 cup chopped pecans to the streusel. Covered with foil for the last 20 mins as recipe states, and did not have the 'melting' issue others have noted. The texture was great, the crust was flaky. Allover perfection. My boyfriend doesn't even like sweets/desserts, but after trying a bite of my slice, he went and grabbed a heaping slice of his own! Perfect with a scoop of Talenti vanilla bean gelato!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
An absolutely scrumptios apple pie. Really easy, too. I loved the way the streusel carmelized...turning it into a flaky, spicy, melt in your mouth delicacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delmar, Delaware, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I thought it was a very nice way to do a pie...kind of a tart..but not really. I enjoyed it very much. I did however think it defeats the purpose of a "crumble" however when it just melts into the appples. Perhaps not covering it for the last 25 minutes would cause it to stay crummblt/crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good! I only covered the edges with foil for the last part of baking and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States