Tante's Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great tasting pie! I would make sure to use Unsalted butter because the bottom crust was a little too salty for my taste. The top was perfect- not too dark for being unwrapped the whole time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Very good! I only covered the edges with foil for the last part of baking and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
I found that after I covered the pie for last 25 minutes, the topping turned to liquid. It didn`t quite have the look I wanted but, tasted good. Maybe I should have just covered the edges. Live and learn. I will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
My husband won't let me make any other apple pie now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I loved this pie, the filling was fantastic. I left the foil off altogether. The topping turned out crunchy but not over doing it. I did add Minute Tapioca 1/3 of a cup, but i also haved the recipe. I did find that there wasn't enough pastry in the recipe to cover the bottom of an 8" X 8" square cake pan, so i did half with this recipe, and half with the never never fail pie crust that I had left over. It worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
I ysed this filling with a traditional pie pastry... simple and yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megapixie
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I thought it was a very nice way to do a pie...kind of a tart..but not really. I enjoyed it very much. I did however think it defeats the purpose of a "crumble" however when it just melts into the appples. Perhaps not covering it for the last 25 minutes would cause it to stay crummblt/crunchy on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NCM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sauk Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I also made this apple pie for Thanksgiving and it was delicious and very simple to make. Add a scoop of pecan ice cream on top and its perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
This was a great recipe for our family. I made a gluten free version (which is easy to do because of the amount of flour used) substituting 3/4c rice flour, 1/4c potato starch and 1/4c tapioca starch for the all-purpose flour in the crust and just rice flour in the topping. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made this for Thanksgiving - truly delicious! I doubled the recipe and used a standard 9x11 casserole dish...best with Granny Smith apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States