Tantalizingly Tangy Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This is a great meatloaf as is. Thanks for sharing! I just don't understand why people "review" these recipes when they are actually reinventing their own. If they have a great recipe, why not just enter it for all to see! Some even cut out the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
594 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2003
This was absolutely delicious. I prepared the recipe exactly as noted. I feel that it is best to try it precisely as written before making judgments, substitutions, or adjusting to personal preferences. The ingredients are few, simple, and inexpensive. The flavors blend in beautifully together and complement each other quite nicely. I will make this again exactly the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
i was really surprised how well this turned out, i wasn't sure about putting this mixture over meatloaf but for the first time in a long time there was no meatloaf left over to throw out...i made the basic meatloaf recipe provided, with 1 tsp of garlic powder and 1/2 cup of diced onion. for the pineapple mixture, i used 1/3 cup ketchup, a little less than 1/4 cup of brown sugar (not packing it) and 1/2 cup of DOLE crushed pineapple. beat it with a mixer..heated it in a stove and into the fridge for a few hours..poked some holes in the meat when i put it in the baking dish (so the mixture could run inside the meat) i poured the mixture over the meat half way thru cooking (like the recipe says)and i'll never go back to my old meatloaf again. it was not too sweet at all...we had it a few hours ago... and we cant wait to have it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
Wow! This is kind of a chinese take on meatloaf. Very, very good. But, I added a packet of Onion soup mix to the meatloaf, which I always do. Also, couldn't find the pineapple perserves-do they exist? I used Apricot jam and it was D-E-L-I-C-I-O-U-S!!! I highly recommend this easy and yummy recipe. The meatloaf has a sweet flavor, which some might not like, but I couldn't stop eating it!!! I would have rated it 6 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Super recipe! I substitute crushed pineapple in place of preserves and that keeps it from being too sweet. This is my new meatloaf recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
The sauce for this meatloaf is excellent... But the meat itself was lacking a little so I added onions and green peppers to it and it came out excellent...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was very good. My boyfriend and I actually just got done eating, and I liked it so much I wanted to come on here and review it before I forgot! I made it a little differently on accident, just because I wasn't reading close enough, I ended up adding the ketchup to the meat and it was still really really good. I think i'll add it to the meat from now on actually. The topping was great too, I used crushed canned pineapple in it's own juice and that turned out fine. I'll make this again for sure. It was really quick to make also, no more than 10min prep really. This is also very flexable, so if you want to add or change ingrediants, it will still be very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
My family found the topping to be far too sweet for their taste. My mother said, "It's not that it is a bad taste, just not a meatloaf taste. It's too sweet and gives it a weird flavor." My sister said it was good but extremely sweet. Nobody went for seconds and my father was at a meeting so I had a lot left over. Since the texture of the meat was very good, I tried to correct the problem. The next night, I rinsed the topping off the chilled leftovers. Made a standard topping (ketchup, brown sugar, Dale's marinade). I placed the loaves (I made individual meatloaves) in a dish with 1/8 cup of water (to prevent drying during reheating) and used the new topping. My family was very happy said that this time it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Mmmmmm, everyone loved this meatloaf! I also added some garlic powder and chopped onions to my meat mixture. I made double the sauce mixture and poured half of it on the last 20 minutes of cooking. I put the other half on the stove to get warm and then served it with the meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This was fantastic!!! I was a little hesitant when I read the ingredients, but I tried it anyway and I'm so glad I did. Next time, I will season the meatloaf a bit more w/some onion and more garlic powder, but the sauce was wonderful and this is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 637) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States