Tangy Vegan Crockpot Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This soup had pretty good flavor. I didn't puree, just left it chunky and added some whole wheat pasta to it. Also used almond milk instead of soy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owendale, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made this for my vegan daughter & asked her how she would rate this (as I made changes). She asked me, "before or after the hot sauce?" Before she added hot sauce it was a 4.5. After the hot sauce it was a 4.75! Here are the changes I made: Substitued the red pepper for half of a jalapeno; used almond & cocconut mike (as we ran out); Added some crushed red pepper; Didn't use lime; Put half of the mixture in the blender. Next time, I will drain the corn! Well, my daughter loved it and joked that she will be eating for an entire week! I suggested we freeze some, but she was fine with having it all week. We will see! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mamatika

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I made this according to directions the first time and found it to be a bit bland. I added cayenne and Old Bay seasoning to suit my tastes and doubled all the spices. I'm making it again and will be adding portobello mushrooms to provide a somewhat meaty texture. Good recipe overall though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Yum! I didn't have vegetable broth. I substituted 1 can of chicken broth. I know it's not vegan but it did taste good. Nice aftertaste. I'm happy to see non dairy alternatives to chowders
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Logan96

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth Field
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
This is a hearty flavored corn chowder, and the potatoes give it a good texture and body. I did not have fresh red chile peppers, so I used 1/2 tsp of ground red pepper. If you are not partial to that much heat, then you could omit the red pepper because the chili powder would be enough. I was also surprised at how much firmness was left in the potatoes after 7 hrs, so when I make this again, I will dice those up smaller. Next time I think I will save the parsley flakes and add them as a garnish at the end, because their flavor was missing. The onion and corn flavors came through perfectly and this was overall a very well blended chowder. It couldn't get any easier to make! If you use a regular milk instead of a soy milk, the color will be lighter also, but I really enjoy the soy milk flavor in this recipe. I intend to make this one again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Field

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I made this recipe and it had not even come to a boil yet in the slow cooker after 6 hours. There was no way it was going to be ready in the next hour so I had to take it all out and cook it for about an hour on the stove. I also did not add the red chilli peppers, because I knew it would be super spicy with that much chilli powder in it already. And I was right. My 6 dinner guests were shocked how spicy it was! Some liked it, some it was too spicy for. The other substitution I made was swapping light coconut milk for the soy milk and skipped the margarine. That's pretty disgusting to add to your soup, pure fat. With the coconut milk and potatoes it was creamy enough! Please don't add hydrogenated fats to your diet in the name of vegetarianism. Skip it and use coconut milk instead. The one thing I liked was the suggestion of lime juice. So I am remaking this recipe after overhauling the ingredient list and switching it to the stove. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this on the stove top rather than in slow cooker. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil did not use margarine or lime juice. I also left out chile peppers. I only pureed about half of the soup and stirred back in the rest for texture. It was wonderful and everyone enjoyed in with homemade bread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have to admit I modified this recipe by accident and on purpose. I didn't pay attention to the direction to put the butter and soy milk in during the last hour--I put everything in at the beginning. I also used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy. Nothing tragic happened! In place of the peppers and chili powder, I used 2 heaping spoonfuls of Old Bay Seasoning. This added a nice taste and some kick. Delicious and forgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a big hit with the family I cook for! The eldest son has become a vegetarian and I try to look for foods that he can also eat. This is a great and hearty meal that they gobbled up. I prepared it as listed except I used Earth Balance for the margarine to keep it vegan and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was deeee-lish!!! I added a 3rd can of corn and a couple of extra potatoes (combo of yukon, red and russet - all "new" potatoes) and only blended about 3/4 of the soup. I also only did half the soy milk to keep it nice and thick and I made home made bread bowl to serve in... YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Microwave Corn on the Cob

The no-nonsense way to make quick, perfect corn on the cob.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States