Tangy Vegan Crockpot Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I have to admit I modified this recipe by accident and on purpose. I didn't pay attention to the direction to put the butter and soy milk in during the last hour--I put everything in at the beginning. I also used unsweetened almond milk instead of soy. Nothing tragic happened! In place of the peppers and chili powder, I used 2 heaping spoonfuls of Old Bay Seasoning. This added a nice taste and some kick. Delicious and forgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Don't pass this one up! I was skeptical of the chili powder and chile peppers, but the flavors really worked well together. I skipped the parsley (I don't think it would really add too much) and lime juice because I didn't have any. Also cut back on the margarine by a few tablespoons (I use Earth Balance). Served with some crusty bread. Next time I make this I'm going to double this recipe because it went so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This was a big hit with the family I cook for! The eldest son has become a vegetarian and I try to look for foods that he can also eat. This is a great and hearty meal that they gobbled up. I prepared it as listed except I used Earth Balance for the margarine to keep it vegan and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was deeee-lish!!! I added a 3rd can of corn and a couple of extra potatoes (combo of yukon, red and russet - all "new" potatoes) and only blended about 3/4 of the soup. I also only did half the soy milk to keep it nice and thick and I made home made bread bowl to serve in... YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm a vegetarian and not a vegan so I didn't have any problem with using margarine. I used real milk, substituted green chilis for the red, and skipped the lime. It was totally yummy! My fiance made some homemade bread to complete the meal which I definitely recommend if you have a breadmaker. This recipe says that there are 6 servings but I think we will get closer to 10-12 out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jaquess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Yum, this is tasty! Thanks for the great recipe. So many vegan recipes lack flavor, but this one is downright delicious. And you're right Mary, most margarine contains small amounts of dairy, but many are vegan. I use 'Smart Balance Light' or 'Earth Balance' depending on the consistency of the intended end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I used this soup to get a few meatless meals in on the kiddos. This went over really well (though I omitted the red chiles for them). I liked the tang which really sets this apart from the classic corn chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this. Just changed a few thigs. I added more garlic, used real milk and real butter because I need calories. Otherwise it was very tasty. Oh I also used frozen toasted corn from Trader Vic's rather then canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I don't have a slow cooker so I pre boiled the onion, chili and potato until jut soft, then put the rest of the ingredients in and put the pot into a very low oven for a few hours - this is really worth trying - I'll be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B Bradfield

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made this on the stove top rather than in slow cooker. I sauteed the onion and garlic in olive oil did not use margarine or lime juice. I also left out chile peppers. I only pureed about half of the soup and stirred back in the rest for texture. It was wonderful and everyone enjoyed in with homemade bread. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donura

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States