Tangy Vegan Crockpot Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly for my first time out. My husband and I really liked the flavor, though it was too spicy for our three-year-old. The only thing I would change is that I wouldn't puree everything. We like our chowder a little chunkier, so I'll leave corn, potato and onion chunks aside when I puree next time. But I'll definitely make it again. My husband is a very confirmed meat/dairy eater and he had no idea this was vegan. I served it in bread boules for the adults and made mini-boules for the kids out of rolls. Fun, easy and warm/spicy on a cold New England night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm a vegetarian and not a vegan so I didn't have any problem with using margarine. I used real milk, substituted green chilis for the red, and skipped the lime. It was totally yummy! My fiance made some homemade bread to complete the meal which I definitely recommend if you have a breadmaker. This recipe says that there are 6 servings but I think we will get closer to 10-12 out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Jaquess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
very good. a little spicy. cut chili powder in half if you're a weakling like me. also, i only blended 1/4 of the soup into mush. left the rest chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was way too watery. I ended up draining off most of the broth... I didn't drain my cans of corn, so maybe that was my problem. Unfortunately I didn't make this revelation until after I made a big mess with my first batch in the food processor. After draining most of the liquid off, this chowder had a really nice flavor. I didn't have red chilis so I subbed a small can of green chilis. I will definately make again and drain the corn and half the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
Yum, this is tasty! Thanks for the great recipe. So many vegan recipes lack flavor, but this one is downright delicious. And you're right Mary, most margarine contains small amounts of dairy, but many are vegan. I use 'Smart Balance Light' or 'Earth Balance' depending on the consistency of the intended end product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was deeee-lish!!! I added a 3rd can of corn and a couple of extra potatoes (combo of yukon, red and russet - all "new" potatoes) and only blended about 3/4 of the soup. I also only did half the soy milk to keep it nice and thick and I made home made bread bowl to serve in... YUMMMMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Kind of bland of the firest try. Second try I left out the soymilk, salt and the parsley. Added a splash of beer and a 1/4 tsp cumin instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I enjoyed this. Just changed a few thigs. I added more garlic, used real milk and real butter because I need calories. Otherwise it was very tasty. Oh I also used frozen toasted corn from Trader Vic's rather then canned corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Don't pass this one up! I was skeptical of the chili powder and chile peppers, but the flavors really worked well together. I skipped the parsley (I don't think it would really add too much) and lime juice because I didn't have any. Also cut back on the margarine by a few tablespoons (I use Earth Balance). Served with some crusty bread. Next time I make this I'm going to double this recipe because it went so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silentexplorer13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampshire, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
Mary, vegan margarine exists, although many commercial varieties do not contain milk solids or butter products, and are therefore vegan. I check labels very carefully because my breastfeeding daughter is lactose intolerant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Elizabeth Monts

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States