Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
These were just okay for my family by no means any fault of the recipe. We learned that we do not like thyme :) I will definitely make again sans the thyme and I'm going to try this w/ a honey mustard sauce instead of the brown mustard just because that's a personal preference. Thanks for sharing a great base recipe that is easily adapted to personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSKWRIGHT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boring, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
These are so good! The whole family loves them. We add less mayo and use only 1 slice of cheese (plenty IMO) and that cuts down on the fat some. I use a whole small red onion instead of bothering to measure it. I used to make it using thyme, but now I add 2 heaping tsp of Trader Joes 21 Seasoning Salute instead, and I don't use any tomato. Lastly, butter one side of the bread, put it in the skillet or on griddle, butter side down, and THEN spread with onion mixture. Less messy that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very Yummy Sandwich!! My husband and I love panera so this was a sandwich just as good that we made at home! I did not have red onion so I used yellow onion and I didn't have french bread so I just used whole wheat and put in the oven just to warm it all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbabcock
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
These were very tasty sandwiches. I made a few modifications. I used Sourdough Bread instead of French, and used deli spicey brown mustard. I could not find mustard listed in the recipe. Definitely a reciepe I will repeat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very good. Not that different from how I make my grilled cheese normally, but the spread is great. I only used a minimal amount of mayo bc I don't really like it, and it was fine. I do really like the thyme taste. I served it on a triple seed whole wheat bread I made last week. This is just a preference thing, but I wouldn't put as much turkey or cheese on next time. I like minimal meat and cheese on my sandwiches. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
to my surprise the onions are a bit overpowering in this sauce, still good but you have the spicy kick at the end, maybe less onions next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
The dressing is SO good, I made some and put it in a bottle in my fridge! I added spicy brown mustard, light miracle whip, paparika, and some garlic powder. Then I took the suggestion to bake the sandwiches at 450 for 5 mins on each side. I used marinated, shredded chicken breast and provolone cheese. "The Mr." doesnt like hot sandwiches all that much, but he sure loved these! They're a snap to make with leftovers and would be sooo good with a nice bowl of soup, or even the chips we had! TRY THIS ONE! You WON'T regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Bryan Gomez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by soapscrubs
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
Great! Word of advice though: You may want to spread the butter on the bread before the mayo/mustard/onion/thyme spread; I did the opposite and when I tried to kind of turn the bread over to get the other side the mayo spread practically all fell off, ha. Really good though, quick too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Delicious Friday night supper. I used another recommendation and added alfalfa sprouts. Also used whole grain bread and a pannini press. Looking forward to making again with leftover sandwich spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I added alfalfa sprouts and nixed the tomatoes. A big hit and I'm not a huge fan of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Rosemary Roasted Turkey

A moist, flavorful roast turkey rubbed with olive oil, garlic, and fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States