Tangy Turkey and Swiss Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
An outstanding sandwich! Even my picky husband liked it. I took the advice of other reviewers and used 1/2 the thyme. I used "real" turkey breast and put it on sourdough from Panera's. I agree that you should use a specialty bread for this. The sauce is ample for at least 8 sandwiches. I might try it on asparagus! It was SUPER! I would recommend dicing the onions as small as possible and preparing the sauce ahead of time to let the flavors mellow! A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRANNYFARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Liberty, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This is a delicious recipe. It's a great way to enjoy turkey left over from Thanksgiving. The recipe makes more sauce than is needed, so I either reduce it or save the extra to use later as a dipping sauce. I've found that I like it better if I decrease the amount of thyme used so the thyme doesn't overpower the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
DELICIOUS!!!! The sauce was so good and the combination of ingredients complimented this sandwich. I will most definitely make it again. Thank you for this posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Very tasty! The only changes I made was in giving every family member their choice of cheese and "grilling" the sandwiches in the oven. Placing the buttered sandwiches on a baking sheet in a 450 oven and baking for 8 minutes per side yields perfectly golden, crisp bread, melted cheese, and piping hot turkey and tomato. Great basic recipe! We'll try with other meats and cheeses soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I really enjoyed the blend of the different ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
ok -- nothing great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
These were wonderful! I followed the recipe but used rye bread in lieu of french. Even my husband enjoyed them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Delicious - I almost didn't try it when I saw the calories and fat content. I used less of the mayo mixture on the sandwich and sprayed the outside of the sandwich with "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" spray. Can't wait to try the spread on another sandwich at a later time. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I made this today -- the day after Thanksgiving -- with leftover turkey. I used Tuscan bread and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Outstanding use of left overs while disquising the turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariam's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

French Dip Sandwiches and Tangy Slaw

See how to make a hot and cheesy sandwich with sweet and tangy slaw.

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Spicy turkey burgers will give traditional beef burgers a run for their money.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States