Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
These are really good. I made them in advance and then froze them for work lunches, so i didn't try this until today. A very nice change from turkey or chicken all the time. My only change was using broccoli instead of corn since I cannot have corn.... oh and real garlic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
My kids whine every time I fix tuna. So I'm always on the lookout for "different" tuna recipes. They loved this. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This is great! I love tuna, but I didn't know how it would go in Mexican, but the spices blended it in so well. I left out the wing sauce because I don't have any, but it was very yummy nonetheless. I'm going to have to figure out some way to modify it, though, because my husband hates beans and corn. But I loved it as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
used canned whole black beans instead of refried, but mashed in with tuna and sour cream. Used minced garlic instead of garlic salt to reduce salt content.added one extra TBSP of hot wing sauce..3 instead of two. transferred from skillet to foil lined cookie sheet into 300 degree oven to keep warm. Husband loved these!!- another Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
it was ok but WAY too salty. It might have been ok if not so much garlic salt was added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was pretty good, but not really pretty looking lol. I was expecting it to be more flavorful, considering the rave reviews and the title. Was nothing a small side of Frank's Redhot for dipping couldn't fix. The only change I made was to use Garlic powder and a pinch of salt (instead of garlic salt-1 tablespoon seemed like a lot) to cut down on sodium. It was certainly easy for a weekday meal, and I could see it being a great way to get kids to eat tuna. But, since I don't have kids, I am not sure this would be a "go to" over a simple bean/chicken/spices/cheese filling for quesadillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
These were super easy, fast, and tasty. I added an extra spoon of Buffalo sauce. I used Sweet Baby Ray's. I substituted guacamole for the sour cream (which is really telling because I LOVE my sour cream) and fresh minced garlic as opposed to garlic salt. I also cut out the butter and used coconut oil to fry the tortilla in. I served them with fresh pico de gallo. Aside from being a bit messy they're super flavorful. I used garden spinach tortillas instead of wheat. I like how a littke can go a long way here as the tuna and black beans are quite filling. I'll be recommending these to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Loved these. Followed recipe as much as I could. I couldn't find refried black beans so had to use refried pinto beans. Also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt due to health reasons and used Franks hot sauce. I also added some minced onion. The filling was really delicious. Just the right amount of heat. I only made one quesadilla yesterday so with the left overs I can't wait to make another one for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Findlay, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I was very skeptical but these turned out great! Used 1/2 c. Refried black beans (on accident) and minced garlic. Also added 1 more tbls hot sauce and kids loved them! Always looking for more kid options! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bregester@yahoo.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Just made it tonight! Interesting ingredients, and turned out good! I substituted Tapitio for the wing sauce and I added green onions to the mix. Oh and mashed up whole black beans instead of Refried black beans. Will definitely make again! Great way to get protein and fiber while getting rid of canned goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States