Tangy Tuna Black Bean Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
This was surprisingly awesome (I didn't use a full tblsp of garlic salt...that seemed like a typo). The ingredients may seem odd, but they really do work well. I plan on trying to replace the sour cream with plain Greek yogurt next time which would make these extremely healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Sooo good! New way to use can tuna! I didn't have refried bean so I just used a can of whole black beans, and added a chopped tomato and poblano pepper. It came out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
A real surprise, these were wonderful, except for the excessive salt. Cut the garlic salt down to 1/2-1 tsp instead of 1 tbs and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
These are TOO SALTY! I will make again but will reduce the amount of garlic salt to 1 teaspoon from 1 tablespoon. I did not have sour cream so I used jalepeno cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Used olive oil instead of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra Hrušková

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I thought this is an excellent way to get tuna and beans into the kids. It was not thier favorite but everyone ate it all gone. They re heat very well. In fact I think they may be better the 2nd day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melarizona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Didn't care for the taste. Any other meat and they would be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I was looking for a different way to use up some canned tuna and this worked pretty well; it sort of reminded me of a cross between a tuna melt and a quesadilla. I didn't have every ingredient on hand, so I used what I had and made a few changes. The changes I made were: I used 1/4c mayo, 1/4c regular sour cream, dash of curry powder, tbsp of cilantro, used a can of seasoned pinto beans unmashed(sort of had a smoky flavor) rather than the refried black beans and corn (I have a hard time eating corn), used 1/4c of chunky salsa and a few dashes of Frank's Red Hot to replace the wing sauce, I used fresh minced garlic rather than the garlic salt, added salt and pepper to taste, and added a handful of cheese into the blend. I mixed everything together, spread it on half of the tortillas, topped meat mixture with colby-jack cheese, folded the "empty" side over, and stuck them under the broiler until warm, melted, and crisp. The tortillas that I used were actually spinach wraps that I had on hand, but they tasted just fine. I served these with sour cream. Overall I thought they were pretty good, and think the black beans and wing sauce might have made for a nice combo if I would have had those items. I definitely think the added seasonings would have been needed either way, to meld some of the flavors together. And like other reviewers, I think the author made a mistake in measuring their garlic salt, and they likely meant to say "one teaspoon". I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShannyBanany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
My family was dreading this dinner . . . "Tuna? In a quesadilla?" But I told them to keep an open mind. And I was quietly skeptical about combining tuna, black beans, and buffalo wing sauce, but it all worked well together and we all enjoyed these immensely. They even asked if we could have this again. Like others, I only used 1 t. garlic salt, instead of 1T. Plenty salty with that substitution. Also, I had not seen refried black beans before, but found Old El Paso at one of the larger grocery stores in the area. Great recipe! Keep an open mind and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I must say that the oddness of this recipe is what piqued my interest, when I received a daily e-mail. I was looking forward to trying it ever since and made it for lunch, yesterday. I, like many on here, also altered the recipe a bit. Rather than use wing sauce, I used chipotle Tabasco sauce. Instead of refried beans, I used whole beans, and I definitely held back on the salt. The chipotle flavor really set this thing off and made the 'dilla what it was. I was just having a hard time envisioning tuna with buffalo sauce and thought that chipotle would be more fitting. I halved the recipe, though I did go a bit heavy-handed on the sour cream, and it still made enough to completely fill two-nine inch tortillas. It's something that I will surely make again -- possibly even today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Bean Quesadillas

See how to make top-rated black bean, cheese, and veggie quesadillas.

Delicious Black Bean Burritos

Black beans, cream cheese, & green chiles give basic burrito’s a tasty makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States