Tangy Tomato Tart (Pie) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is DELICIOUS. Be sure to use whole seed dijon mustard. I was afraid the amount of olive oil would make it runny, but it emulsified enough and made a wonderful filling. I drained my tomatoes for a few minutes so they wouldn't wash out the tart, and baked it in a small stoneware pan. It did feel and taste like something I would eat in a French bistro or cafe. Simple, tasty, and divine! I look forward to making this for girlfriends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
This is truly delicious. I used a refridgerated pie crust in a regular glass pie pan. Didn't have fresh herbs so had to use dried. After placing the ingredients in the pie crust, instead of crimping the edges, I folded the excess over the filling.....about one ince. I did have to bake it longer to get a nice crisp crust, but it was absolutely to die for. Even the next day at room temp! Great recipe...thanks pocohr. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I find this to be overly sweet. I think the fresh tomatoes are overpowered by the honey. I think I will try it again but cutting back on the honey, maybe 1/2 teaspoon at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I used a 9 inch crust and it still turned out great! I also used raw honey and fresh shredded Parmesan. I didn't think it was too sweet, as one reviewer mentioned- but I do think I will try using just a teaspoon of mustard instead of 1.5 teaspoons. All in all, my family found this very tasty and SO EASY to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
I liked the taste, but it had way too much olive oil!! Swimming in it. Upset my stomach. If I make it again I will cut that way back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I made this recipe the other day and have to agree, the recipe calls for way too much oil. I will be making it again though because I did like it. But will either be cutting back the oil to 1 Tablespoon or perhaps leaving it out altogether. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
"One of the top ten best" per hubby! We ate the entire tart for a light dinner. Fresh garden tomatoes were used along with oregano and thyme from the herb garden. I did use all of the tips in the AR Premier magazine: 1) Used a 400 degree oven. 2) Dust the pie crust with flour before spreading paste. 3) Used a blender to make the paste. 4) Topped the tart with the one sprig of oregano and thyme after it was baked. 5) Magazine time was shortened to 40 minutes due to the increased oven temperature; mine was done closer to 35 minutes. Thank you pocohr and AR for bringing this delight to our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
The tomato part turned out delicious. But the rest was too greasy! Not sure Ill make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MisNCy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breda, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Made this last night. Didn't have a pie crust so used croissant dough. Found the honey to be too sweet for my taste. My husband really liked it. Will make again without the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coreen Kindred Beckman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I think the 6 Tablespoons of olive oil is a mistake and should be 6 teaspoons (2 TBS.) Noticed when blending that it was way to runny to "spread" as the recipe stated, so made a second batch with 2 TBS. and that was much closer to what the recipe described. On the whole, it really wasn't very tasty, so will not be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Easy Vegetable Pot Pie

All you need are a few minutes to prepare this simple veggie pot pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States