Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
I couldn't give this a 5 rating because I more than tripled the seasonings (specially the garlic), and I cut back a little on the sugar/ketchup (which is already pretty sweet). I also cut the vinegar in half. Basically, I used your ingredients and then modified them to our taste. I read the reviews and most of the people whorated it low complained that is was bland. I learned from a friend on this site (sdk999) that when you cook in a slow cooker you have to increase your seasonings and I have to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izzy Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
Fantastic! I bought a roast from M&M meat shops, and defrosted it. I put potatoes in the bottom, covered by an onion, the roast over that, and filled in the sides of the slow cooker with baby carrots. I poured the sauce over top and left it alone. It was FANTASTIC!! I would definitely recommend this to anyone. The pork was tender and juicy. The vegetables were done to perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Loved it!! Made it exactly as written. Wouldn't change a thing. I pierced the roast with a fork MANY times so the flavor would soak in. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
694 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Vernon Hills, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
We really enjoyed this, and how convenient it is! I scrubbed some small red potatoes and put them in the pot whole with the pork, steamed some asparagus to go with it, and voila, an easy and healthy dinner. I made two very minor changes to the basic recipe. I used raw sugar instead of white, and substituted some chili infused vinegar for the red wine vinegar. This is one of those really good basic recipes that you can make so many little changes to and use over and over again. I'm going to try using hoisin, then teriyaki, in place of the ketchup to see how they change the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I read a few of the different reviews and found them helpful. I cut the roast into four pieces and browned them. From there I followed the ingredients listed in the original recipe and added about 5 red potatoes. I quartered the potatoes and tossed them on top of the roast pieces. I set the slow cooker for 5 hours on low. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
246 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
This was a winner, & I found it so easy to prepare. A great meal for hot weather as you use the crock-pot I used a small pork roast--about 1-l/2 pounds-- better fit for my small slow-cooker, & it turned out great. I sliced it and served it on hamburger buns with some of the onions that were cooked with meat, added some barbecue sauce & mustard - & voila! …Hot pork sandwiches! PS: A note of caution—the meat comes out of slow cooker pale, so if you want it to look brown, better brown it in a pan before putting it into the crock-pot. I didn’t do this, but I added teriyaki sauce and later some barbecue sauce over the top to get it “browner”….& of course, those things added to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Husband loves this recipe. I used pork chops instead of roast. I used balsamic vinegar instead red wine and it gave it a nice zip. I also doubled the recipe for the sauce in order to make a nice gravy. A+++ recipe a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This was a very moist Pork Roast I have ever made & tasted. I shredded the leftover and we had Barbeque Sandwiches the next day meal. I just use the juice from roast and add Barbeque sauce and heat them together, It was just about as good as the Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I must say this has to be the WORST recipe i have tried from here. The juice in the pot was watery. the roast had no flavour. No ammount of extra seasoning could save this mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFANY11

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made a lot of changes, so although I thought this was a 5-star dinner, I think it was due to input from other reviewers and some of my own revisions. I did brown the pork in about 1/2 Tbsp of oil with 1 tsp of butter. For the sauce I mixed 1.5 cups beef broth, 2 Tbsp of red wine vinegar, 3 Tbsp of soy sauce, 1 Tbsp of white sugar, 1 Tbsp of ketchup, 1 tsp of black pepper, 1/4 tsp of salt (since the beef broth is pretty salty), 1 tsp each of garlic power and onion poweder, 1/2 tsp each of paprika and dry mustard, about 1 tsp of Frank's Red Hot and a dash of worcestershire. I layered about 8 medium red pototoes (peeled) on the bottom of the crock pot, covered with onions, then put the browned roast on top. Then I added baby carrots all around the sides. I cooked on high for about 1 hour, then turned down to low and cooked for another 5 hours. After 5 hours, I sliced the pork into about 10-12 pieces and put it in the bottom of the crock pot so it would be submerged in the juices. I cooked for 1 additional hour and then removed all the veggies and pork and kept them warm on a platter. Then I poured the juice into a pot, added a cornstarch slurry and brought it to a boil to make a gravy. It was AWESOME! And pretty healthy too! Thanks for the great start, K :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States