Tangy Sliced Pork Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Our family liked this recipe. I made a few changes which helped take the strong zip out of it a bit. I added 1/3 cup of ketchup, 1 TBLS brown sugar and 1/2 cup of water. After simmering the sauce with the meat for 1/2 hour I then thickened it with some cornstarch and water. We will be putting this on the family favorites list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This was a great alternative to plain old bbq sauce coated pork leftovers. After reading reviews, I decided it was best to just follow the recipe as written, I was glad I did, too. My husband went nuts! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
i didn't think the ingredients added and flavor, all i tasted was the pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Not at all what I expected. I liked it, but my husband couldn't finish his. It was too sharp, and I had added more than 1/2 cup of sweet red wine to mellow it. It was still too sharp for my husband. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marshall, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
These were awfully good. I don't think that there was enough juice, but I might have used too much meat. I'm not sure. In any event, it was very good and we probably will use up left over pork with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Great recipe! I followed the original recipe and decided there was not enough sauce, so I added beef broth. Then I decided there was too much sauce and thickened it up with cornstarch! Next time I will follow the recipe exactly! This is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
easy and enjoyoble
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Very good and a great use for leftover pork! I put the pork in with all the ingredients and shredded it as it heated rather than cubes. Our personal preference. I will fix this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I converted this to a slow cooker recipe, by combining all ingredients except pork, replacing the cayanne with a whole fresh habanero pepper, and adding chopped onion. I placed the sliced pork into crock, then poured sauce over top and let cook on low for 8 hours. At the end of the day, it wasn't saucy enough, so in the future, I will add some water in the beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUN4REGINA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
This was just OK - a little sweetness with just a tiny kick from the cayenne. It wasn't "soupy" at all, which is good if you're serving it to children. In fact, I'll bet children would like this more than adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DART1121

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turin, Iowa, USA
Living In: West Bend, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

BBQ Pork for Sandwiches

This tasty pork is great on your favorite bun. It’s simple to make, too.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States