Tangy Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I steamed the cabbage for 1-2 minutes to soften it up, which I liked. I also added a bit of sesame oil as someone else suggested but didn't like that flavor; I'll skip it next time. This was a nice way to use red cabbage, and it tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Used the exact ingredients but sauteed in a wok with the sauce after steaming cabbage. Served hot - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minerva, Ohio, USA
Living In: Rouen, Haute-Normandie, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
veryyy nice. i used grenadian molases instead of soysauce and reduced its amount, added some salt,pepper and cumin and a chredded onion. it was fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Very good. I replaced a little bit of the olive oil with sesame oil. Next time I will try sauteing this as another reviewer suggested and then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I sauteed the cabbage in the marinade for 5-7 min. (until just warm and tender-crisp) instead of serving it cold and it was delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEZEPP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Tasted too much like soy sauce. Color is beautiful maybe I will try again with half of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOACHIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This is recipe is pretty, crunchy and delicious, I added sesame seeds and sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turner's Mom
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I simply love this recipe. It is easy to make (even my boyfriend can make it) and tastes great. It became a staple at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Excellent and easy recipe. I did add some salt, ground black pepper and cumin seeds. Served with fish, we all had seconds of this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I did not particularly like this recipe. I had halved the liquid because I had only half a cabbage and it wasn't that great...still a bit too much liquid. I felt there was too much soy sauce. I think it might be good with the Balsamic Vinegar and olive oil and just a drizzle of soy but that's probably a personal taste preference. I love raw cabbage and I thought it tasted better raw then this recipe/combination. I might try it again but use less soy and see if that makes a difference for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States