Tangy Red Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I like this recipe, but I would use half the oil and balsamic and no soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was delicious! The flavors are so good together. I added some sliced onion to it but it's great without it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
7-8-11: Had to cut down on the proportion of soy sauce - Kikkomann. Might be better to use a real light soy. It was very good. 7-15-13: Upgraded to a '5'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I don't like cabbage, but I found this recipe to be tasty. I used only half the required amount of soy sauce and balsamic vinegar, as I'm not a big fan of either. I added freshly ground sea salt, and YUM! I shocked myself at how much better cabbage tastes in this mixture! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slattekm

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
for the low calorie count, it was a great side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Glen Truesdel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Kitty Hawk, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
tasty. we steamed the cabbage as one reviewer suggested and also added the sesame oil and seeds, which i would definitely do again. next time i might make either raw, as the original recipe suggests or run under cold after steaming or blanching. it got a little too "slawy" but the flavor was great. agree that rice vinegar might be more consistent with the other flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
We really enjoyed this as written but you have to like cabbage to like it. This will pair up with a lot of different things nicely and I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Good with raisons and sunflower seeds, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitewater

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This isn't the flavor I was looking for. Trying to get close to the flavor from a local Restaurant, Clearman's North Woods Inn. But it was good. Definitely worth a try. Play with the oil and soy sauce before pouring onto the cabbage as your personal taste may not want as much as it calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I steamed the cabbage for 1-2 minutes to soften it up, which I liked. I also added a bit of sesame oil as someone else suggested but didn't like that flavor; I'll skip it next time. This was a nice way to use red cabbage, and it tasted even better after sitting in the fridge for two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lysandramarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Chef John’s Braised Red Cabbage

See how to make flavorful, quick-and-easy braised red cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States