Tangy Poppy Seed Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
I rate this a 3 because my family wouldn't eat this until it sat for a day or so. Needed time to mellow...maybe I'll make this ahead of time next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
Very good. Don't use all the poppy seeds though. Unless you realllly love them. Just add a few and see how it is, then adjust to how many you think looks/tastes right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
This is a great subtle addition, it is not at all overpowering to the natural taste of the fruits. It's a different and still healthy to enjoy summer fruit. I used all fresh fruits instead of canned just on personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Home run with eveyone at my son's birthday bbq. Will definatly be making this one again. Thanks for this one=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNBOSS1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
It is excellent. We have made it many times for company and after dinner dessert. Everyone loves it. I don't add poppy seeds because of our very young children who love this salad/dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Well, I'm not a fan of fruit salad in general, I had neither a fresh orange nor tinned pineapple, but I also was feeling like all I've been serving for dessert lately is a bowl of one type of fruit per evening. So I made this with a tin of mandarin oranges (forgetting my husband's childhood-bred aversion to them--oops) and fresh pineapple, just squeezing juice out of the rinds into the dressing as I went, and, remembering some of these reviews, jerking my hand back before the whole teaspoon of poppy seeds tumbled in. Oh, also, I had no kiwi, but did toss in about 1/2 pint of fresh blueberries. And it was all terrific! Is it the poppy seeds that make it taste so special? Whatever. I'm thinking of making another to bring to a pool party next week. Katy, you've converted me to a fruit salad fan! Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNIGANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is such a delicious fruit salad recipe. I did use canned orange segments instead of fresh; I did add bananas; and I did decrease the amount of poppy seeds. All in all, it is on my list of favorite 'company' salads. Thanks, Katy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
Wonderful! I served on the side of a Carribean meal of jerk chicken and pineapple rice. I didn't have fresh limes, so I used bottled Key lime juice, and it was still terrific. I agree with others about cutting down the poppy seeds - 1/2 tsp. was plenty. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2004
Great mix of fruit. Dressing adds a nice flavor to the fruit. This dish was enjoyed by all who ate it. I did use fresh pineapple and less sesame seeds. Next time I would use red grapes instead of green for some more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2004
This salad was a huge hit at a recent family get together. I scaled the recipe to 8 servings and it was fantasic. Substituted fresh pineapple for the canned. Also reduced the amount of poppy seed as suggested by other reviewers. This is a really nice light dessert that I will enjoy again and again. A big thumps up for this one. Try it, you will not be disappointed. Thanks Katy for a terrific recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States