Tangy Pear and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was simply delicious. I made the dressing with 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 white wine vingear, as well as a teaspoon of pure maple syrup and a pinch of pepper, and subsituted canola for olive oil. I also added dried cranberries which was amazing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I used olive oil and gorgonzola cheese. A wonderful salad to add to my recipes! Husband loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Pretty good. The sweet and tangy goes well with the nuts and sharp flavor of good blue cheese. I used 1/2 cup agave nectar in place of sugar and also used balsamic vinegar only because I prefer the flavor over white vinegar. I also used olive oil instead of canola....again for flavor. This does make a HUGE batch of dressing, but I will used it to marinate chicken or fish with too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Delicious! I used white wine vinegar instead of regular distilled and used much less sugar (or Splenda, in this case). This will be made often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by turbogal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chesterton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Delicious. I melted butter in a pan, added halved pecans, sprinkled sugar in the pan and mixed around until the pecans were glazed. Added those to the salad versus the walnuts and gave it a perfect sweet/tart mix. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lolobtexas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This salad was excellent! The flavors blended so well together. I reduced the amount of sugar to 2 Tbsp and it was very sweet but it balanced well with the vinegar. I used mixed baby greens and baby arugula and omitted the red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Fabulous! I used feta rather than blue cheese and I used a big box of spring mix with 1/2 the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
WE LIKED IT, IT WAS GOOD- THE MISTAKE I MADE IS THAT I USED BABY ROMAINE- SPRING TYPE GREENS AND THIS SALAD DEFINITELY NEEDS A MORE "RUGGED" LETTUCE- IT WAS PRETTY LIKE THAT THOUGH!! I THOUGHT THE DRESSING WAS EXCELLENT!!! LEFTOVERS ARE NO PROBLEM AS I KEPT ALL INGREDIENTS SEPARATE AND MIXED INDIVIDUAL SALADS-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wiser1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
This dressing is y-u-m-m-y! YUMMY! I replaced the sugar with honey as it makes it creamier and healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sullycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I checked out the other pear and blue cheese salad recipes on this site, but decided on this one BECAUSE of the ketchup in the dressing. French/Russian salad dressing is just about my favorite, and other reviewers indicated that this had a bit of that taste. I made the dressing with equal proportions of the vinegar (cider vinegar), sugar, and oil and just added it as needed because it was still too much even though I cut the oil amount in half. I also used gorgonzola cheese. Glad I tried this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Curried Cashew, Pear, and Grape Salad

Make a healthy green salad loaded with fresh fruit and curried nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States