Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Way too much onion to suit me! It overpowered the other flavors. Also salty. May try again with only a small amount of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
Real easy. I don't but tatar sauce since I found this. Sometimes I just make half the recipe as I cook for just me most of the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is very similar to the tartar sauce I've made for many years. I think dill pickle relish or chopped dill pickle are much better than sweet pickles in tartar sauce. You can also substitute capers, if you like. I use a little less onion and pepper in mine and add a little prepared mustard and no extra pickle juice. I also sometimes add just a pinch of cayenne pepper for an extra layer of flavor. Try it. It's easy to make and tastes great. I suggest making it at least an hour in advance if you have time, to allow the flavors to blend. You can make it and store it in the refrigerator several days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Both times I've made this I've made it without the celery seed because we don't have any. But I must say that this is probably the best tartar sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Thanks for this recipe. It is wonderful. I don't like sweet relish at all and this tartar sauce is what I've always been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Four stars as listed, 5 with my additions. I made half a recipe as directed using light mayo, tasted it and added the remaining minced dill pickles and onion. I added 2 dashes of celery salt and about the same amount of dried dill. If you like chunky tartar sauce like we do, you'll need to double the amounts in the recipe. Not sure if we enjoyed it more with the crunchy fish (simple panko breaded baked tilapia loins) or on the red potato oven fries. We will definitely have again and plan on having it be a staple in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Fabulous! Surprisingly wonderful! Tastes similar to restaurant tartar sauce only better. Made exactly as written except for the extra salt since pickles are already salted. Tasty, delicious and way better than anything you can buy. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE IT!! I don't like sweet pickles so this is exactly the tarter sauce for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Easy and very tasty. The best part is that I always have all the ingredients - no shopping for something that would sit around and spoil. For a change of pace, try celery or dill seed (use mortar and pestle to slightly pulverize) and a tad of cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Dill is the only tartar sauce I've ever eaten, also. I can't imagine anything sweet on fish. Thanks for the recipe, now I won't have to buy it in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States