Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Fabulous! Surprisingly wonderful! Tastes similar to restaurant tartar sauce only better. Made exactly as written except for the extra salt since pickles are already salted. Tasty, delicious and way better than anything you can buy. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE IT!! I don't like sweet pickles so this is exactly the tarter sauce for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Easy and very tasty. The best part is that I always have all the ingredients - no shopping for something that would sit around and spoil. For a change of pace, try celery or dill seed (use mortar and pestle to slightly pulverize) and a tad of cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Dill is the only tartar sauce I've ever eaten, also. I can't imagine anything sweet on fish. Thanks for the recipe, now I won't have to buy it in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the only way I will make tartar sauce. I can't stand the sweet stuff. the only thing I do differently is to add just the tiniest sprinkle of cayenne pepper for a little kick. In a pinch, when I don't have fresh onion on hand, I will rehydrate dried chopped onion in water for about 5 minutes and add that. If you are in a REAL hurry - Fish is on the table and you forgot the tartar sauce-dill pickle relish, which I always seem to have on hand, mixed with the mayo works well. Never any need to buy tartar sauce. This is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I learned to make tartar sauce from my mom and she made it like this (minus the extra salt). It was always good. No sweet relish for me either, not in tartar sauce and definitely not in potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Great as is! However, for a little perk I sometimes add some capers (finely chopped, unless they are very small) and/or some minced fresh dill. Make sure you use a good quality mayonnaise, this sauce needs that smooth tasting kind of base. Some commercial brands are just too "zippy' and tangy, and they fight with the dill. Combine this with come sour cream and it makes a great vegetable dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I made a few little changes 3/4 c. mayo & 1/4 c. sour cream, 1/4 c. dill relish w/ some extra juice, green onion & a few capers (optional) 1/2 tea. dill weed .. Perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This recipe is similar to how I make tarter sauce. Try using dill relish (instead of chopping pickles), dried minced onion (instead of fresh), onion powder, lemon juice and dry dill weed. I don't measure, just to taste, depending on how much sauce you're making. It's delish with fried fish, shrimp and oysters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I tried this recipe and my family loved it. Also tried it adding a small bit of horseradish. YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, California, USA
Living In: Silver City, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States