Tangy (Not Sweet) Tartar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This is very similar to the tartar sauce I've made for many years. I think dill pickle relish or chopped dill pickle are much better than sweet pickles in tartar sauce. You can also substitute capers, if you like. I use a little less onion and pepper in mine and add a little prepared mustard and no extra pickle juice. I also sometimes add just a pinch of cayenne pepper for an extra layer of flavor. Try it. It's easy to make and tastes great. I suggest making it at least an hour in advance if you have time, to allow the flavors to blend. You can make it and store it in the refrigerator several days in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Both times I've made this I've made it without the celery seed because we don't have any. But I must say that this is probably the best tartar sauce I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Thanks for this recipe. It is wonderful. I don't like sweet relish at all and this tartar sauce is what I've always been looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Four stars as listed, 5 with my additions. I made half a recipe as directed using light mayo, tasted it and added the remaining minced dill pickles and onion. I added 2 dashes of celery salt and about the same amount of dried dill. If you like chunky tartar sauce like we do, you'll need to double the amounts in the recipe. Not sure if we enjoyed it more with the crunchy fish (simple panko breaded baked tilapia loins) or on the red potato oven fries. We will definitely have again and plan on having it be a staple in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Fabulous! Surprisingly wonderful! Tastes similar to restaurant tartar sauce only better. Made exactly as written except for the extra salt since pickles are already salted. Tasty, delicious and way better than anything you can buy. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
LOVE IT!! I don't like sweet pickles so this is exactly the tarter sauce for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Easy and very tasty. The best part is that I always have all the ingredients - no shopping for something that would sit around and spoil. For a change of pace, try celery or dill seed (use mortar and pestle to slightly pulverize) and a tad of cayenne or hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Dill is the only tartar sauce I've ever eaten, also. I can't imagine anything sweet on fish. Thanks for the recipe, now I won't have to buy it in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the only way I will make tartar sauce. I can't stand the sweet stuff. the only thing I do differently is to add just the tiniest sprinkle of cayenne pepper for a little kick. In a pinch, when I don't have fresh onion on hand, I will rehydrate dried chopped onion in water for about 5 minutes and add that. If you are in a REAL hurry - Fish is on the table and you forgot the tartar sauce-dill pickle relish, which I always seem to have on hand, mixed with the mayo works well. Never any need to buy tartar sauce. This is so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbearmom03

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
I learned to make tartar sauce from my mom and she made it like this (minus the extra salt). It was always good. No sweet relish for me either, not in tartar sauce and definitely not in potato salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Tartar Sauce I

Homemade tartar sauce is perfect for dipping fried fish.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States