Tangy Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Can_It_Rachael
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
HELLO magnificent flavor!!!! I couldn't wait 2 whole weeks to give it a taste so I dipped my spoon into it to try and ended up making sandwiches with it as soon as it came out of the blender. I used it on sharp cheddar and pastrami sandwiches and it held up very well against those strong flavored foods. My husband says we will NEVER purchase mustard again. I highly recommend making this if you enjoy a good hardy mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can_It_Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
WOW! I barely know where to start...thanks to Can_it_Rachael's review and rave in the buzz, I knew I would try this recipe. Try as I might, I simply could not find ANY of the type of mustard seed this recipe calls for, but since I was too impatient to order online, I used simply "mustard seed" from my bulk store, and "hot mustard powder" to replace the Oriental seed (as I gather they are the spicier of the three). The taste is simply incredible, and like Rachael, I couldn't wait two weeks to try it! I doubled the recipe, and got perfectly enough to fill three 500 ml wide mouth jars. I used 1 tsp of "hot mustard powder" for the doubled recipe, and got a very noticeable ZING (no complaints here!), but for those that prefer a milder mustard (and couldn't find the original mustard seeds called for and must substitute) they may want to start with 1/2 or even 1/4. I am so thrilled with how this turned out that I too, will never purchase a grainy mustard again! Thanks so much, I am so pleased! Update: This tasted spicier at first, now after maturing, it is more mellow...still 'tangy' but not hot. So, next time I won't reduce the hot mustard powder, and may even add more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Delicious! The hardest thing was finding the right mustard seeds, but after that - easypeasy! Perfect balance of flavors. I did add a good dose of black pepper to my batch and a bit more salt. Wonderful texture and it looks quite fancy too! I am adding this to my list of homemade goodies for holiday gifting. Thanks so much for the recipe!***UPDATE*** I made a plain yellow variety for my daughter who prefers "not so spicy" Followed the recipe but used 1 cup yellow seeds. She loves it! I love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I'm just going to add to the continuing list of high praises when I say that this mustard is awesome! Truly, I'm impressed that making homemade mustard is as easy as whirling a few items around in a blender; the 'hardest' part was the soak time for the seeds... but that could have been attributed to excited anticipation more than anything. Now that the two weeks are up, I find myself looking for ways in which to use this mustard. I've stirred it into smashed potatoes, slathered it on pastrami sandwiches, dolloped it on sharp white cheddar slices for a mid-afternoon snack, dunked pretzels into it ... next up, a ham glaze. Many, many compliments on a wonderful condiment, pelicangal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicolette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This mustard is really good. I had a feeling I was going to like this very much. I special ordered the all the seeds. And it was rather easy to make...but I goofed on the 1st batch. I forgot the honey and it was totally a hot firecracker. It still has a bite even with the honey but it's all good. Now I choose to make 2 batches because I have a kid allergic to apples and I wanted her to be able to enjoy the mustard and not be told, sorry can't eat it. So I made a batch with Distilled White Vinegar and that's the one I forgot to add the honey. And it was flaming. The 2nd batch with the Apple Cider vinegar is the one I added a sugar free honey and it was also when I realized I forgot the honey on the 1st. I pulsed and grinded the mustard down as far as I could. We love it....You can totally leave out the Oriental mustard seeds if need be, that's where this recipe gets it's heat. I'm totally tickled stumbling across this recipe. It's a total keeper and it also helps with other ideas for mustards. Pelicangal, I salute your recipe. If I can make my family mustard verses buying it in the store. I've saved some money. Because the seeds in bulk, the ingredients that went with it, sure makes up the difference. I don't mind making fresh, when it's this easy. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
AWESOME! I can't believe I made my own mustard, lol! I did have to omit the Oriental mustard seeds because I couldn't find them, but that was my only change. This is spicy, tangy and delicious! I made it yesterday, but just had to try some today on my turkey sandwich, lol. I can only imagine how good it's gonna be after 2 weeks if it already tastes this good after only 1 day! This was so much fun and very easy. I will be making my own mustard from now on! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!! Like others, I had to order the Oriental seeds, but that was easy enough. I too couldn't believe how much of the vinegar they were able to absorb! Who knew making mustard was so easy?!?! I've shared it with friends & family and we keep a jar in the office fridge - everyone Loves it! And "tangy" is the perfect description. Thank you, pelicangal!!! This recipe is SO a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
Very good mustard. Dried thyme is not a favorite for me, so we omitted that, and I didn't have any oriental mustard seeds and omitted those, too. Nevertheless, the mustard is very good already even though we just made today. I added more honey to one of the jars, and that's great, too. I will definitely make this again! ADD'L INFO: I mixed some of this mustard with a bit of heavy cream to make a mustard sauce for grilled chicken and steak....AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
One word...delicious! I forced myself to wait the entire two weeks. I bought a fresh loaf of bread from the farmer's market this morning, got some premium lunch meat from the grocery store and sat down to one of the best sandwiches I have ever had...certainly the best I have made thanks to this mustard. I couldn't find the Oriental mustard seeds so I just used a teaspoonful of the powder. I no longer have to purchase mustard. No store bought mustard will ever compare to this homemade one anyway. Thanks pelicangal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This mustard was awesome! Like others I cant believe I made my own mustard. I had to order the mustard seeds on myspicesage.com. I gave a jar to a friend who served it at a get together and it was loved by all. I will be making this again when my stock runs low. Thanks Pelicangal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Honey Mustard Dressing II

This dressing is great for salads and for dipping veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States