Tangy Mango Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really good recipe, & very versatile. But strong for the wife & me, so I added 2 cups more cabbage. Bingo! Another time, out of walnuts, so I subbed sunflower seed kernels, which turned the taste in a dfferent (& tasty!) direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Made this to use on my shrimp taco's tonight....Yummy! I did change it a little and made the dressing like I do for slaw; Sugar, onion powder and a dash of salt, mix in rice vinegar till blended and dissolved, taste and adjust, add a tablespoon or two of mayonnaise depending on how much you are making and mix well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seb95667

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Loved this. Used red cabbage and the color was striking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zoitsa
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Did what others suggested: increased the cabbage (half of a medium-sized green and half a med. red cabbage heads) and added raisins. Fantastic. Also, subbed brown rice vinegar. Used two mangoes but it would've been better with three!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I would prefer honey (about 2 Tbsp) to the Splenda.I would add a small amt. of olive oil as well. Drizzle the oil over the slaw to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Excellent salad - everyone at our table of 8 thoroughly enjoyed the dish. As one reviewer suggested, I did taste the vinegar/sugar mixture before adding to the vegetables and while it was very good, I will increase the sugar a bit. Two days old now and it's still as good as the 1st day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Mmmm!!! Even my 3 yr old ate this! And I couldn't get enough! This is DELICIOUS the way it is, but I made a few changes to cater to my family's tastes: -only used 2 Tbls of red onion finely chopped -used regular white sugar -added 1 Tbls mayo to thicken the sauce -replaced walnuts w/ almonds -added pineapple tidbits & shredded coconut
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great coleslaw - it's definitely a combination of sweet and tangy! I love the vibrant colors and mix of flavors. I used a bag of coleslaw mix and 2 mangos vs. 1. I also added about 1/2 cup of raisins for contrast and they paired nicely with the walnuts. I mixed the dressing basically dissolving the sugar in the rice vinegar - taste it before you mix it in, if you don't like it before it goes over the salad you'll ruin the whole thing. I mixed everything and let it set overnight. It was a great accompaniment to grilled pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Awesome! Super super yummy! I don't like mayo ladden coleslaws, so this was perfect since I had so many mangos I needed to use up. I used agave nectar instead of splenda because I never use splenda. I cut back on the vinegar to about half a cup and it was perfect. I also didn't add the walnuts to the slaw because I didn't want them to get soggy, I just sprinkled them on top. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was way too sweet for me and there was too much vinegar. If I make it again, I will definately cut both the vinegar and the Splenda in half. Otherwise, it's low calorie and has a great amount of vitamins so it's great for us who watch our waistlines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States