Tangy Mango Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
Great coleslaw - it's definitely a combination of sweet and tangy! I love the vibrant colors and mix of flavors. I used a bag of coleslaw mix and 2 mangos vs. 1. I also added about 1/2 cup of raisins for contrast and they paired nicely with the walnuts. I mixed the dressing basically dissolving the sugar in the rice vinegar - taste it before you mix it in, if you don't like it before it goes over the salad you'll ruin the whole thing. I mixed everything and let it set overnight. It was a great accompaniment to grilled pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This is super, watch thier eyes open when they try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
HUGE positive response to this. Brought it to work to share with staff and it was gobbled up in minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
The combination of cabbage, mangos,and walnut was very good. The recipe called for too much dressing. I'm thinking of making the dressing a little different with something other than just vinegar. The dressing was a little tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cocoakay
Home Town: Woodburn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I've made this three times so far and each time, my partner who doensn't like fruit salad loved it! I like it because it's simple and easy and tastes great. It's even better I find if I let it sit for about 30 mins in the refrigerator beforehand to let the flavors meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Canada, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This is going to go PERFECTLY with my barbecued short ribs that I am fixing today. I picked it because it calls for ZERO oil or mayo. If you like a tangy cole slaw, you will love this. I heeded what others said and used the same amount of dressing in twice the amount of cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
Fabulous combination! This will be a regular on my table as long as I can find fresh mangoes! My only criticism is that the recipe makes too much dressing, so next time, I'll either double the veggies or halve the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Very tasty! I wasn't crazy about the walnuts, but everything else worked really well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
I ommitted the onion and walnuts and used celery instead. Also, I used real sugar instead of Splenda. This has a very pungent flavor and there is plenty of dressing, so I think I would cut back next time. Overall, this is unique and very healthy....would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I was looking for a fresh recipe to use my mango, but this slaw is a bit bland. I found it too sweet. I did add a bit of light mayo as a binder. It was OK, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States