Tangy Hawaiian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I thought this was really good. I did take the advise and cut back on the soy sauce and I am glad I did. I was cooking this in -26' weather so I did not grill it but I did cut it into tender size strips which cut down on marinating time and cooked it for about 5 minutes on the George Foreman Grill. For added nutrition I used brown rice with carrots, green pepper, celery, and onion with a little bit of olive oil. I also did not use the same marinade the chicken was in, I made extra sauce and set it aside, the pineapple in the marinade was good on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy. I marinated the chicken for about an hour and a half. One MAJOR change---I made 1 1/2 times the marinade, as I will NOT reuse marinade that has been used on raw chicken. I went ahead and followed the instructions and boiled it, but I'm not sure what the benefit was there. I took this to a party and it went over great! Everyone loved it. To serve that purpose, I cut the chicken up into chunks, then put it over the rice. This was a great marinade and does great things for the rice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I thought the flavor was amazing..especially from a marinade perspective - VERY flavorful. I boiled the marinade as instructed (which would elimate any risk of salmonella or other bacteria, to reference the previous reviews comment) which made it even MORE concentrated. I suggest adding some water to it after its boiled a bit to cut down on the overpowering taste of the salty soy, sour lemon and tangy pineapple. But in the end, I found this to be a fabulous combo of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
i was looking for something quick and was inspired by this recipe. i put together the marinade portion, adding about a half-cup of water mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch, which turned the marinade into a silky smooth sauce. then i diced the chicken and sauteed it, adding the sauce and a bunch of precooked rice. i like the combo but would add some red bell pepper next time for color and contrast, and cut WAAY back on the soy sauce (down to a quarter cup, i think). would be good as a tofu marinade for the vegetarians in the house, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was excellent, fast and a nice dinner for a warm summer evening. As an alternative, I used the chicken, cooked in this manner, then sliced it onto a salad of romaine, mandarine oranges and chow-mein noodles. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i changed the pineapple to a can of cocktail and then reduced the soy sauce to 1/4 cup...sodium is unhealthy! then i added a can of coconut milk and then stirred everything together into a crockpot and cooked it on high until the chicken was cooked through and served on a bed of brown rice....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The family agreed that using store-bought Terriaki would have been much better and, certainly, a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
i liked this recipe a lot. but i did not like the pineapples. next time ill use just pineapple juice! i also cut back on the soy sauce (1/4 cup) and use brown sugar instead of white. o and added and extra tablespoon of bbq sauce (i used a spicy bbq sauce) and a tablespoon of honey. o and i baked the chicken since its too cold out side to grill. it was very yummy over the white rice and i served w/a side of steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyB!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Nope, sorry. The chicken was too salty but I could eat it. The boiled marinade I had to throw out because all I could taste was the salt from the soy. The rest of my family agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
nope, sorry, this one is gross. And I agree with the other reviewer, you should NEVER reuse a chicken marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States