Tangy Hawaiian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy. I marinated the chicken for about an hour and a half. One MAJOR change---I made 1 1/2 times the marinade, as I will NOT reuse marinade that has been used on raw chicken. I went ahead and followed the instructions and boiled it, but I'm not sure what the benefit was there. I took this to a party and it went over great! Everyone loved it. To serve that purpose, I cut the chicken up into chunks, then put it over the rice. This was a great marinade and does great things for the rice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I thought the flavor was amazing..especially from a marinade perspective - VERY flavorful. I boiled the marinade as instructed (which would elimate any risk of salmonella or other bacteria, to reference the previous reviews comment) which made it even MORE concentrated. I suggest adding some water to it after its boiled a bit to cut down on the overpowering taste of the salty soy, sour lemon and tangy pineapple. But in the end, I found this to be a fabulous combo of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was excellent, fast and a nice dinner for a warm summer evening. As an alternative, I used the chicken, cooked in this manner, then sliced it onto a salad of romaine, mandarine oranges and chow-mein noodles. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
nope, sorry, this one is gross. And I agree with the other reviewer, you should NEVER reuse a chicken marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
i was looking for something quick and was inspired by this recipe. i put together the marinade portion, adding about a half-cup of water mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch, which turned the marinade into a silky smooth sauce. then i diced the chicken and sauteed it, adding the sauce and a bunch of precooked rice. i like the combo but would add some red bell pepper next time for color and contrast, and cut WAAY back on the soy sauce (down to a quarter cup, i think). would be good as a tofu marinade for the vegetarians in the house, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
We thought this was good although I agree with the pp that there is way too much soy sauce. I think next time I will also add some bell pepper. We will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
I think I might have added a bit too much curry powder by mistake, but in the end I found it much too over powering. I followed the general idea on the reviews and only used about a third of a cup of Soy Sauce. This recipe just wasn't very good. I ended up throwing it out. The chunks of pineapple just tasted gross with the barbeque sauce and curry and it ended up being a real waste of food after a few mouthfuls and throwing it out. I was watching the movie, "Rumour Has It" while preparing and eating this meal so now I will get horrible flashbacks every time I watch it. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Léah Fugère

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I thought this was really good. I did take the advise and cut back on the soy sauce and I am glad I did. I was cooking this in -26' weather so I did not grill it but I did cut it into tender size strips which cut down on marinating time and cooked it for about 5 minutes on the George Foreman Grill. For added nutrition I used brown rice with carrots, green pepper, celery, and onion with a little bit of olive oil. I also did not use the same marinade the chicken was in, I made extra sauce and set it aside, the pineapple in the marinade was good on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great. Very flavorful. I cooked the chicken with the sauce and the rice by itself. ~Joce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jocelyn BD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bergen, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States