Tangy Hawaiian Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
I thought this was really good. I did take the advise and cut back on the soy sauce and I am glad I did. I was cooking this in -26' weather so I did not grill it but I did cut it into tender size strips which cut down on marinating time and cooked it for about 5 minutes on the George Foreman Grill. For added nutrition I used brown rice with carrots, green pepper, celery, and onion with a little bit of olive oil. I also did not use the same marinade the chicken was in, I made extra sauce and set it aside, the pineapple in the marinade was good on the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan, Utah, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2002
This recipe was quick and easy. I marinated the chicken for about an hour and a half. One MAJOR change---I made 1 1/2 times the marinade, as I will NOT reuse marinade that has been used on raw chicken. I went ahead and followed the instructions and boiled it, but I'm not sure what the benefit was there. I took this to a party and it went over great! Everyone loved it. To serve that purpose, I cut the chicken up into chunks, then put it over the rice. This was a great marinade and does great things for the rice, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
I thought the flavor was amazing..especially from a marinade perspective - VERY flavorful. I boiled the marinade as instructed (which would elimate any risk of salmonella or other bacteria, to reference the previous reviews comment) which made it even MORE concentrated. I suggest adding some water to it after its boiled a bit to cut down on the overpowering taste of the salty soy, sour lemon and tangy pineapple. But in the end, I found this to be a fabulous combo of flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
i was looking for something quick and was inspired by this recipe. i put together the marinade portion, adding about a half-cup of water mixed with a tablespoon of cornstarch, which turned the marinade into a silky smooth sauce. then i diced the chicken and sauteed it, adding the sauce and a bunch of precooked rice. i like the combo but would add some red bell pepper next time for color and contrast, and cut WAAY back on the soy sauce (down to a quarter cup, i think). would be good as a tofu marinade for the vegetarians in the house, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was excellent, fast and a nice dinner for a warm summer evening. As an alternative, I used the chicken, cooked in this manner, then sliced it onto a salad of romaine, mandarine oranges and chow-mein noodles. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REENTHEQUEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
i changed the pineapple to a can of cocktail and then reduced the soy sauce to 1/4 cup...sodium is unhealthy! then i added a can of coconut milk and then stirred everything together into a crockpot and cooked it on high until the chicken was cooked through and served on a bed of brown rice....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvie TorokNagy Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
The family agreed that using store-bought Terriaki would have been much better and, certainly, a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
i liked this recipe a lot. but i did not like the pineapples. next time ill use just pineapple juice! i also cut back on the soy sauce (1/4 cup) and use brown sugar instead of white. o and added and extra tablespoon of bbq sauce (i used a spicy bbq sauce) and a tablespoon of honey. o and i baked the chicken since its too cold out side to grill. it was very yummy over the white rice and i served w/a side of steamed broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyB!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Nope, sorry. The chicken was too salty but I could eat it. The boiled marinade I had to throw out because all I could taste was the salt from the soy. The rest of my family agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
nope, sorry, this one is gross. And I agree with the other reviewer, you should NEVER reuse a chicken marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

See how to make tender and sweet grilled chicken kabobs.

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States