Tangy Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I really liked this recipe. There are just a couple things I did differently. I made the dressing a couple hours ahead of time and refrigerated just the dressing to allow the flavors to blend. I then added the dressing to the potatoes while they were still fairly warm. Warm potatoes will absorb the dressing better than cold potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Thank you for the idea to pour the Italian dressing over the HOT potatoes - the flavor of this potato salad is incredible. I omitted the dijon and put in 3 or 4 times the amount of dill. L-O-V-E this recipe. It's a keeper for life!! *I will reduce the amount of mayo next time just to save a few calories - it's creamy enough to make this adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
This potato salad is yummy! I was looking for a recipe for potato salad where I could lower the fat & cholesterol content without losing the flavor and this is the one! With regular egg & mayo potato salad, by the next day it might be tasting kinda stale. But this one is even better when it's "day old." The only thing I'll do different next time...is make it the day before. Thanks Lukeysmom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewMexicoMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2005
I've made this dish 2 times, and my family loves it! I took the suggestion of one reviewer and put the italian dressing on the potatoes while they were warm, and placed the potatoes in the refrigerator to chill. I then cut them in desired pieces, and added the remaining ingredients. This is our choice of potato salads, we've tried the traditional ones, but we're hooked to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
Have made this twice and it was well accepted. Did as others said and put the Italian dressing on while potatoes were still hot. Had to cut potatoes in bite-size pieces because potatoes were large. Also added eggs & celery. Put all together then added mayo mixture. My 43 yr-old son still likes my "original."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This is a delicious potato salad and it is tangy just as the name implies! I might cut back a little bit on the mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
I just made this recipe and it is quite yummy. I used 1 medium onion in lieu of the green onions because I just didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. Everyone liked it even my non-potato salad husband. I also did a couple of things differntly, I added a few sliced up radishs for color and 3 boiled eggs dicing up the whites and straining the yolks into the the mixture and a lot more dill. I think it's better after 24hr in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
This was great really liked it. So nice to find a potatoe salad without eggs. I put in the Grey Pupon, it was great. I didn't want to buy fresh dill as I try to use what I already have on hand. I used 2 teaspoons of dried dill and it was great. I am sure the fresh would have been better. I served it with a recipe from this website Chicken salad 2, made sandwiches on wheat bread with some leafy lettuce. Perfect meal for a hot summer day. Prepare salads in the AM and by dinner time the flavors have been absorbed. Top off your hot summer evening with some cool Bahama Mama's also on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This recipe is fabulous! I can't stand eggs, so I don't like normal potato salad... yuck! This one is wonderful, and doesn't have any eggs. As usual, I can't help but tweak recipes... and our family likes sauces so I added a little more of everything. I also added quite a bit more dijon, and quite a bit more dill too. I didn't have any green onions on hand, so I used some chives from my herb garden instead. It turned out FABULOUS, and everyone in my family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Summer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States