Tangy Cucumber and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I LOVE THIS SALAD!!! I usually scale it down as it is just my husband and I and add some shallot and a few pinches of cumin. If you're not happy with the presentation I would suggest picking a slightly firmer avocado. Also try mixing the rest of the ingredients first and then folding the avocado in. I've done this with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe is the reason I love this site... well a good example of why. I would never have thought to put together this combination, in fact to me it sounded a little odd, but I LOVE this! I may have put a little too much citrus in it, but other than that this was a great salad! A little like guacamole but more alive if that makes any sense, I will be making this salad many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillaurabean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winlock, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I'm always looking for different types of salads and this one was great! The flavors of all the ingredients go together so well. Tonight I served it with Spicy Grilled Shrimp from this site and I'm sure I will make it with a lot of meals this summer. I did add grape tomatoes for color and did add a little sweetener so that it wasn't quite so tart. Very unique and enjoyable salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Viroqua, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Loved this salad!! Used a large English cuke with the skin on....2 limes and 1/2 lemon juiced and used fresh dill instead of the cilantro since that is what I had on hand. The garlic and the green onions really add extreme flavor. Served this with Spicy Lime Grilled Shrimp and loved this dinner tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I made this last night for my boyfriends family & everyone raved about it. It really is soooo good!!! This salad was easy to make, looks so pretty when it is done, is much better for you than a regular salad & tastes nice & refreshing. I put the salad together about 4 hours before guests arrived, but waited until about 30 minutes before serving to slice up the avocado & add it in because I didn't want it to brown up at all. To prevent it from getting mushy I just lightly tossed the salad with my hands. Other than that, made it just as the recipe specified & will continue to do so again & again & again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
i didn't have lemons in the house so substituded limes the cucumber and avocado are fresh - but the lime gives it the summer flavour! excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is a very easy to make and extremely tasty salad that goes well with chicken & probably any picnic/cookout type menu. Use seedless cukes or de-seed them yourself so it doesn't get too watery, and throw in some grape/cherry tomatoes, (whichever are smaller) for a pop of color and to add a subtly sweet flavor to this vibrant dish. YUMMO!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
A little sour -- I added a bit of sugar to the dressing, and added some cherry tomatoes for color. Nice light salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Our house seems to LOVE anything with chicken and avocado and this was no exception! I particularly liked the flavors created by the lime and the lemon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
My husband was passing thru town & wanted to surprise him w/something I had never made before. Thought this would be a good side dish. It turned out good, served it w/grilled salmon & shrimp, & artichoke spinach dip. Great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States