Tangy Cucumber and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was delicious. I used a bit more green onions than were called for and did not use the full amount of lemon/lime juice (only 1/4 tsp lemon juice mixed in directly with the avocados to keep them from browning). Instead I served the salad with lemon and lime wedges and allowed my guests to add the juice individually to suite their tastes. I would definitely make this again! I now prefer it to guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelsey Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was delicious and very refreshing. I didn't have green onion, so I chopped up a red one very finely and it was really good! Thanks for the recipe, Jessie - it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: High Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
I'm always looking for fresh vegetarian or vegan dishes and this one is fabulous. I loved the contrast in crunch from the cucumbers and creamy avacados. The lemon and limes juices were terrifically balanced. DH and I split this for dinner one night- very filling and satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Not very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
easy to make, refreshing--perfect for summer! I'm a cilantro nut so I probably used more than called for in the recipe but I feel like this is one where you can play with the balance (I think I used more lime too!)...delish!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was easy to make, but I felt something was missing, so I added a little sugar and about a teaspoon or so of balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
This is a very refreshing summer side. It is probably best over fish or tossed with lettuce. With similar ingredients, I think I would rather make an avocado/mango salsa or guacamole though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very basic and good. I added tomatoes. Serve with a roll = instant meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I made this for a b-day part BBQ yesterday and it was a HUGE hit. I did substitute red onion and used a little bit of kosher salt plus table salt, but otherwise followed the recipe. This is a good, yummy, easy recipe and easily tweaked to mood/taste. I cannot wait for my garden cucumbers to come in as that will surely make this even more delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scullycat68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
LOVED LOVED LOVED this recipe! I agree with the other members, make sure you use avocados that are not overly ripe, they are too mushy when overripe. Also, I added grape tomatoes cut in half to this recipe. I will be making this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 197) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States