Tangy Cucumber and Avocado Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Thanks for the "base". I didn't have lemon, but zested the lime and added with fresh ground pepper. I mixed in a large salad bowl with fresh spring mix, and added a tablespoon of olive oil to create a lovely dressing. I decided to NOT add tomatoes as other reviewers recommended, as I thought the presentation of different hues of green were wonderful. If tart is not your thing, use only half a lime. It's plenty and with the zest, still very bright and citrusy. Oh, and my husband loves cucumbers...I don't! Still wonderful salad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mineral Point, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
This is a great salad. We ate it on some fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
What a delightful summer dish! The lemon and lime really play up the avocado and cucumber's flavors. I especially love the green onions in there. I followed the recipe exactly, but like in anything I make, I left out the salt. Well done, Jessie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Tasty and perfect as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
We shared this recipe with the Crowes and it was loved by all. One of the best "quick fix" salads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asbach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This was very bland. It needs onions for flavor and tomatoes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This was good. The only thing I changed was to switch the green onions for some minced red onion and a little less cilantro. It took on more of a consistency of guacamole when it was mixed with the lemon & lime juices, so I would suggest waiting until time to eat to add the avocado. The flavors were really good and overall enjoyable. I also added some sliced grape tomatoes for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This is a nice change from lettuce salads. I took it for lunch today, and everyone wanted the recipe as soon as they smelled it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Yum! Thanks for a great summer-y salad - it was a hit at the BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Forestville, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I love this salad. I did add a red pepper to the salad because it seemed a bit bland since I didn't have any lemon juice. Yum! A very healthy and satisfying salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States