Tangy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I make a similar recipe. 8oz bottle russian dressing, can whole cranberries (like for thanksgiving), jar pineapple-apricot preserves, packet onion soup mix. Combine & pour over 6 chicken breasts. Bake 350 for 90 minutes. Best. chicken. ever. Serve with mashed potatoes to soak up all the gravy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerra Kullman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this for my family last night and it was delicious! Didn't realize Russian Dressing would be so hard to find. I used French instead. I baked it with sliced pinapples on top. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dkp763

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camden, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Great easy recipe. I use the bottle of dressing, the onion soup mix, and about 1/2 of an 18oz jar of apricot preserves. This makes it a bit sweeter. I cut the chicken into cubes and let them marinade in the sauce. Cook for about an hour at 350. I then take out some of the sauce and heat it on the stove w/ some cornstarch to make a gravy. I serve over rice. Both my young children and my husband LOVE this meal. Has become one of our staples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylor, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
YUM! I added a splash of vinegar (to combat the sweetness, like over reviewers stated) and a hefty pinch of red pepper flakes. It doesn't look creamy at all after its cooked- it was just like sweet and sour sauce from Chinese places. Thanks! Hubby loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
tasty dish. Family liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was delicious, though I think next time, I'll use more apricot preserves. For the russian dressing, I used Thousand Island. Everyone thought I was super creative, so thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lvalen21
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was soooo easy and so delicious!! I'm trying to watch my weight so I used sugar free apricot preserves (used regular dressing because I couldn't find lite / low fat) but I didnt use as much as the recipe called for. I really can't believe how simple and delicious this was. There was lots of extra sauce so I made brussel sprouts on the side and believe it or not they tasted delicious in the extra sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly and it was delish, both me and my husband agree. It does make A LOT of sauce. You could easily half the ingredients for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I love this recipe! I add canned pineapple to it when I cook it. The left over sauce is fantastic on potatoes! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Really good basic. For those of you wanting a little more "tang" try this: to the basic mixture add 2 T rice vinegar, 2 T soy or teriyaki sauce, 1 t garlic, 1 t spicy mustard. Taste the sauce before you add the raw chicken and adjust to suit your taste. My kids love it either way. You just can't go wrong with this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States