Tangy Catalina Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2008
O my gosh this is so good. I used Western French Dressing and for seasoning Tastefully Simple Seasoned Salt. This is indeed a nice change from a plain tuna pasta salad. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I tried the recipe as shown, I was not a huge fan for the tuna in it. So the next time I made it I used imitation crab and salad shrimp, also uses small shells. I thought the imitation crab made it a better taste. I will make this again many times in the future since it is easy to make and well liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
Excellent! I used fresh boiled/peeled shrimp and left out the tuna, and substituted a combination of rotini, penne, and gemelli pasta for the macaroni. I also left out the sweet relish because I didn't have any, and added some halved, grape tomatoes. The key is the Catalina dressing... compliments the taste of the shrimp. I cut back on the mayo, and marinated the shrimp in a red wine vinaigrette... I wanted more of a "shrimp cocktail" type flavor than creamy. Again, the Catalina was the key... very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
A good, different kind of macaroni salad. It has sort of a thousand island taste with the dressing that you make. I did not add the shrimp as I don't care for it. This does have good flavor and I will make it again. Great salad to pack in lunches. Thanks Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used only tuna in mine, and also used extra dressing as suggested. Also I am a salt and pepper person so of course I had to add those too. It was a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I used medium frozen shrimp, no tuna, and 1/2 box Barilla Plus multi-grain penne pasta. I added sliced green onions instead of regular, 2 stalks diced celery, and 1/4 cup diced red pepper. I used 3 Tbsp. light mayonnaise and only 1 Tbsp. Catalina dressing. To remedy the blandness I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, Old Bay seasoning (to taste), freshly ground black pepper, and the juice of 1/2 lemon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
very tasty, i didn't have olives,or peppers and still very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
This was a hit to all who tried it. I made it without the shrimp but it was still loved and I will doing this from now on when I need to make a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fountaintown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Good, but I wish I had used fresh shrimp instead of the canned - I've never used them before, and I thought they tasted a bit strange. Really liked the Catalina salad dressing, though. I would make this again. Thanks, Holly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this two nights ago to go with Big Smokey Burgers from this site. I used tri-colored rotini, and I also had to double ingredients. I used all tuna, and when done it tasted like it came from a bottle, a can, and a jar. So to give it a more "fresh" taste, I added chopped fresh dill and lemon juice and salt (cringe, but it needed it). I think next time I will use fresh shrimp and these modifications. There is maybe 1 serving left in the fridge and only 3 of us so I guess we did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States