Tangy Catalina Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I made this two nights ago to go with Big Smokey Burgers from this site. I used tri-colored rotini, and I also had to double ingredients. I used all tuna, and when done it tasted like it came from a bottle, a can, and a jar. So to give it a more "fresh" taste, I added chopped fresh dill and lemon juice and salt (cringe, but it needed it). I think next time I will use fresh shrimp and these modifications. There is maybe 1 serving left in the fridge and only 3 of us so I guess we did like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I tried the recipe as shown, I was not a huge fan for the tuna in it. So the next time I made it I used imitation crab and salad shrimp, also uses small shells. I thought the imitation crab made it a better taste. I will make this again many times in the future since it is easy to make and well liked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
I used medium frozen shrimp, no tuna, and 1/2 box Barilla Plus multi-grain penne pasta. I added sliced green onions instead of regular, 2 stalks diced celery, and 1/4 cup diced red pepper. I used 3 Tbsp. light mayonnaise and only 1 Tbsp. Catalina dressing. To remedy the blandness I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes, Old Bay seasoning (to taste), freshly ground black pepper, and the juice of 1/2 lemon. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
A good, different kind of macaroni salad. It has sort of a thousand island taste with the dressing that you make. I did not add the shrimp as I don't care for it. This does have good flavor and I will make it again. Great salad to pack in lunches. Thanks Marbalet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I was hoping for a better tasting salad. I believe the catalina gave it a little to much sweetness, and I kept thinking that there was something missing, however I could never put my finger on it. My daughter suggested making it again but using only the shrimp, so I may try that and cutting down on the catalina, but if that doesn't work, I won't try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Sorry, but this was a disappointment. I was excited when reading the ingredients because I love shrimp and Catalina dressing. Thought it would be a great combination. But I made the salad according to the recipe and it could not have been more bland. I won't even try to adjust the ingredients like many of the other reviewers did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used only tuna in mine, and also used extra dressing as suggested. Also I am a salt and pepper person so of course I had to add those too. It was a recipe I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
O my gosh this is so good. I used Western French Dressing and for seasoning Tastefully Simple Seasoned Salt. This is indeed a nice change from a plain tuna pasta salad. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This just wasn't for me. I didn't care for the tuna and shrimp together. I do agree, though, that doubling the dressing helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
After making only half the recipe, which I frequently do to see if I am going to like it, I determined it needed more dressing, I would say twice as much. That made it tastier. The dressing is similar in taste to a tangy thousand island. My husband really liked this and I did too. Macaroni really dilutes or absorbs a lot, so I would double the amount of dressing if you want more flavor. Someone mentioned canned shrimp tasting funny. I have read you should soak them in ice water, then drain well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shrimp and Pasta Shells Salad

See how to make a creamy shrimp salad with pasta shells.

Tri-Color Penne Pasta Salad with Shrimp

See how to make a colorful shrimp salad with grape tomatoes and penne pasta.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States