Tangy Buttermilk Cheese Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
Made it to recipe specifications since this was the first time I tried it. I really liked the texture and the taste, even though you can barely taste the cheese. My hubby apprived whole-heartedly as well. Next time I might add some garlic, onion, or herbs...but then again, it was yummy as is, so we'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
This was WAY WAY TOO salty. Absolutely no sourdough taste to me. Where sugar activates yeast, salt stops yeast. My loaf had a nice density and shape to it but it was small. I will not be making this recipe again though due to the saltiness of the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great bread for sandwiches. I made as the recipes states - let the bread machine do the hard part and form the dough in a loaf pan to bake. Really liked the texture of this bread. Next time I'm going to omit the cheese and just make a white bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Good with mozzarella too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made it in my mixer with dough hook. First rise not so good, but did what someone else suggested, divided the dough and free formed it into two medium round loaves - 400 degrees for 15-20 mins. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Just Me
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Love this recipe. Followed exact, well almost. Added a bit more cheese. Used the dough cycle on my bread machine and finished in my oven. Nothing was left after the meal. Boo....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buellton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great flavor. Light and tender with a beautifully crisp crust. Just delicious. The only deviation I made from the recipe was warming the buttermilk to 90 degrees first. I used 1% buttermilk and full fat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This was really good!! As another reviewer suggested, I made rolls rather than a loaf. I also used gruyere instead of cheddar. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne B-A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I made this bread today... I followed the recipe exactly. The result was perfect! My picky daughter loved it and ate two huge slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancescaF

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious! I added a little extra cheese (nearly 1 cup), 1/4 tsp of paprika, 1/4 tsp of dry mustard, and nearly 2 Tbls of room temp butter. I also through in a little extra yeast as sometimes heavier breads don't seem to rise as much in my bread-machine (Cuisinart). I found that in order for my bread machine to made a nicely formed dough ball, I had to add about 2 Tbls of extra water - not sure if this is because I added a little extra cheese, or what. The recipe didn't specify what size loaf this makes, but I think it came out about the size of a 1.5 lb or 2 lb. I had to bake it an extra 10 minutes past the 1.5 lb cycle of 37 minutes for a nice golden top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrienphoebecook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Olyphant, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States