Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This dish was awesome! My DH and I loved it! The only change I made was to use 2 lbs of ground chicken cause that is what I had on hand and marjoram instead of sage. Next time I will double the glaze per my DHs request. What a great recipe! Will be making this for a dinner party in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is the best meat loaf I have ever eaten. The only thing that I changed was the chicken, I used turkey. Very moist. Tired this out on my boyfriend and he went back twice for more. He couldn't wait for leftovers tonight. It was better tonight. Tanks for the WONDERFUL healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Fantastic! That was a hit in my house for family members of all ages (and a neighbor who wants the recipe). Thanks for a recipe that I will add to my favorites :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megaroni76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was wonderful. My husband and I couldn't stay away from it. He is usually leery of turkey/chicken "meat loaves". I used turkey instead of chicken and had to add about 6 oz of very lean hamburger meat (I didn't have enough turkey), but other than that, I followed directions exactly. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was great! It tasted like a chicken dinner with all the fixins - all in one loaf! It was not - knock-me-down WOW (It IS chicken) - but it had enough flavor that it was great for kids and adults. The kids loved it. I could barely tell there were apples in it. I didn't have sage or celery, but I will be sure to get those for next time. I might also add in some craisins. I fine-diced the apples, onions and carrots before I read the directions. They all got sauteed for the same amount of time - which I am glad! Next time I will just buy the Mirepoix mix at the grocery store, and save the prep time. I also scaled the recipe to one pound, no problems there. There were no leftovers! I will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
The prep time was at least 30 minutes for me, but the end result was really good. My family turned their noses up with the idea of "chicken loaf" but were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful taste (even the texture was great!) I made this with mashed sweet potatoes and broccolini. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I used ground turkey. I couldn't find ground chicken. DH and I both really liked it. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Montpelier, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was fantastic, as far as prep there are many short cuts and believe me I took them! This was moist and wonderful. This is an AS IS review. The only substitution I made was oats for breadcrumbs. The whole family gobbled it up. We had the babysitter over for dinner that night and she had never had meatloaf and loved it! Thanks for a very healthy, terrific recipe. It will be on my meal rotation often, especially now that Gala apples are in season! Shortcuts I took were using a food processor and bought an onion celery blend in freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
FABULOUS recipe! I followed it almost to the letter, but I didn't have poultry seasoning so I used some extra sage, tarragon leaves and a little garlic and it worked fine. Next time I'm at the store I'll grab poultry seasoning to see if it could possibly be even better with, since this is going to be a regular at our house--my husband LOVED it. I also used oatmeal instead of bread crumbs, as another reviewer had, but instead of 1/2 c. I ended up using 1 cup because the mixture was way too wet to form into a loaf with just the 1/2 cup. (Maybe if I'd used bread crumbs the 1/2 cup would've worked better.) Served it with some smashed potatoes, peas and jellied cranberry sauce...mmmm! Hubby can't wait to try the leftovers in a sandwich tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I didn't change a thing, and we loved it. thanksgiving flavors in an easy loaf. this now goes on the short list of regular dishes at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States