Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This is the best meat loaf I have ever eaten. The only thing that I changed was the chicken, I used turkey. Very moist. Tired this out on my boyfriend and he went back twice for more. He couldn't wait for leftovers tonight. It was better tonight. Tanks for the WONDERFUL healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Fantastic! My partner and my son loved this recipe. In fact, my partner says it's his favorite recipe I've ever made. I served this with mushroom-garlic-herb couscous cooked in chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuffin Man

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Fantastic! That was a hit in my house for family members of all ages (and a neighbor who wants the recipe). Thanks for a recipe that I will add to my favorites :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megaroni76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was great! It tasted like a chicken dinner with all the fixins - all in one loaf! It was not - knock-me-down WOW (It IS chicken) - but it had enough flavor that it was great for kids and adults. The kids loved it. I could barely tell there were apples in it. I didn't have sage or celery, but I will be sure to get those for next time. I might also add in some craisins. I fine-diced the apples, onions and carrots before I read the directions. They all got sauteed for the same amount of time - which I am glad! Next time I will just buy the Mirepoix mix at the grocery store, and save the prep time. I also scaled the recipe to one pound, no problems there. There were no leftovers! I will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was wonderful. My husband and I couldn't stay away from it. He is usually leery of turkey/chicken "meat loaves". I used turkey instead of chicken and had to add about 6 oz of very lean hamburger meat (I didn't have enough turkey), but other than that, I followed directions exactly. Bravo!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Everyone LOVED this dish. This is the best recipe I have found in a long time. Followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was delicious! My husband loved it, and I will definitely make it again. I made a few minor changes. I only used about 2 tablespoons of chopped onion, and about 1 stalk of celery. I left out the pepper (my husband hates pepper), and the sage. The poultry seasoning I used already had quite a bit of sage in it, so I didn't want to overdo it. I used 1 cup of breadcrumbs instead of 1/2 cup. The mixture was too 'wet' with only 1/2 cup. Lastly, I didn't use mustard for the glaze. I'm not a big fan of mustard. So I substituted it with 2 tablespoons of Jack Daniel's Honey Smokehouse BBQ sauce instead (I'm sure any BBQ would do). It took an extra 10 minutes or so in my oven for the center to reach 180 degrees. I served it with homemade mashed potatoes and green beans. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Oh my this was sooooo good!! I used 1 lb of ground chicken b/c that was the size of the package. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blessedmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This was a great option on traditional meatloaf! It was perfectly seasoned. My husband and kids loved it, and I liked the fact that it was something different. The only change I made to the recipe was to double the sauce/glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
My family really did not care for this at all. It tasted too much like stuffing. Sorry! At least it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Fragrant Lemon Chicken

See how to make a tender, juicy whole chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States