Tangerine Orange Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
This recipe turned out excellent! Very moist and very orangie. I used vanilla pudding instead of lemon pudding and vanilla extract instead of lemon extract. I also added 1 tablespoon of orange zest to both the cake batter and the glaze. I infused the cake with the orange glaze by taking the cake out of the bundt pan to cool, then pouring half of the glace into the bottom of the bundt pan and returning the cake back into the pan, this soaked the top of the cake in glaze. I then poured the rest of the glaze on the bottom of the cake and down the edges while it was still in the bundt pan and let the cake soak it up. After removing the cake I decided to create another orange icing by combining 1 cup icing sugar with a few tablespoons of tangerine juice, milk and a pinch of vanilla extract. I then poured this into a sandwich baggie, snipped off an edge and piped it along the top of the cake in streaks (see picture). The orange white icing looked great on the cake and tasted wonderful in combination with the orange glaze. By using the vanilla pudding and extract instead of lemon, and by adding orange zest to both the cake batter and glaze, this gave the cake a very distinct orange flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Made as muffins. Great, although the icing was runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
I tried this recipe on 02/14/11 and it was fantastic! My cupcakes were so moist and even better the next day. My 3.5 year old son would eat 2 cupcakes at at a time; I had to put the cupcakes out of his reach. He absolutely loved them! And the glaze was okay, I totally understood that it's a glaze not a frosting. Leslie, thanks for sharing your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy A.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was delicious and very easy! I only used about 1/2 of the glaze, which I had to brush on. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made a bundt cake out of this and it turned out moist and light. Good overall, but it reminded me too much of those mini cakes called "Lemon Blossoms". I believe I saw Paula Deen some too. I followed the ingredients & instructions---only difference being that I used fresh tangelo juice (since I couldn't find any tangerines). The drizzle was good and helped to keep the cake extra moist. I think, next time, I'll make a glaze similar to the one you would put on Lemon Blossoms (using powdered sugar & fresh tangerine/citrus juice), drizzle it over the top, and then let it set. I'll also try using some Grand Marnier like other reviews did. Thanks for sharing this simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
tried this recipe today. followed directions. Just didn't find it any more moist than the cake mix suggests. I would try again with orange cake mix and orange extract for more orange flavor. may also use confectioner sugar instead of white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I have a recipe called Tangerine Orange Bundt Cake that is identical to this, it's my husband's favorite, and I've been making it for years. I have a tangerine tree in the backyard that is overflowing with fruit right now, so it's a perfect time to make this decadent cake. I'm sure you could make it with fresh oranges, but tangerine juice will take it over the top. I squeezed 4 medium-sized tangerines, and baked the cake for 50 minutes. Use a toothpick to poke holes all around the top of the cake, and be patient in pouring the syrup over the top of the cake. Let it soak it, and then repeat until it's all gone. This is what will make your cake so moist it'll nearly melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This tasted more like a lemon cake than an orange one, even after using 1 1/2 tsp. of orange extract instead of lemon. If your looking for a true orange cake, this is not the one for you. I would call it a citrus cake. I think the cake was nice. It was moist and the glaze had a nice bright flavor that imo made the cake. The bake time is a bit off and I had to bake this cake for 55 min. (using a bundt pan). Would be a nice spring time cake. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Did not use tangerine juice per say, but was delicious. Make sure to poke holes in top of cake for icing to run into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I followed this recipe almost to the letter and it turned out great! (The only difference in mine was I used tangelo juice instead of orange or tangerine juice.) Instead of a cake I did cupcakes to put in Christmas goodie baskets and everyone asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States