Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
I had jumbo sized eggs, so I only used 3. Also, you can cut down on the amount of Peanut Butter and Chocolate to save a few $$. I didn't have a 10 x 15 pan, so I used an 8 x 12 - cake was thicker and I had to bake 10 to 15 minutes longer. I also iced it while still somewhat warm, while this was messy, it kept the cake very moist on the inside. Delicious, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2001
I found I left the cake in the oven a little bit longer than what the recipe called for. Otherwise, it is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2001
Rebecca, I am sooo glad you submitted this recipe! I used to make this recipe all the time & somehow misplaced it. My family thanks you & I thank you. (The peanut butter goes on the cake easier if you spread it when the cake is still warm.) This tastes like an original Philadelphia Tasykake I remember when I was growing up. Excellent recipe!!! Terri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
Excelent cake! My fiance loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2002
Do not substitute the chocolate bars with chocolate chips - it hardens too much and makes it difficult to cut. Take this to your next potluck or picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perkasie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
My mother used to make these for me as a child. To this day I still love these tandy cakes and this recipe is GREAT. Always a success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I have made this cake several times and I get nothing but raves. Soooooooo goooooooood! Thanks for sharing such a good recipe. :-))))) A+++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
If you love those little snack cakes that come in a package, you'll love this big cake as well. I made this for my daughters' birthday and it was a huge hit with the gang. Definitely spread the PB while the cake is still warm. Due to total lack of time, I had to cheat and use a box cake mix. It was still awesome and I thank you Rebecca for making the peanut butter and chocolate freaks in my house jump for joy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2003
I MADE THIS RECIPE A FEW TIMES NOW AND IT ALWAYS COMES OUT AWESOME. GET READY TO HAND OUT THE RECIPE. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMMYBAKESEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
Although I could not stop eating it, the milk chocolate was a bit much. It was also hard to cut the hardened chocolate. Frosting is hard to beat, but nutella would be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States