Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I never have any leftovers when I make this recipe! Only thing I do differently is add more peanut butter. Also - for those looking to save a little money on the chocolate, I use Hershey's milk chocolate chips. Work just as well as the candy bars and are MUCH cheaper! Be sure to get Hershey's brand only - generic milk chocolate chips don't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I split b/w two smaller pans and put 1 bag of choc. Chips per cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I just attempted to make this and it started off well. The cake was baking beautifully and only had about another ten minutes or so to bake. I went to check on it and somehow it liquified to this buttery looking mess. I have no idea what happended, i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I bake these dessert bars any time I need a quick and yummy dessert. Everyone loves them! The cake is moist, fluffy, and sweet and the chocolate and peanut butter combo is perfect. I plan on making these forever using this exact recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
We love these!! I have been making these for years and my mom and grandma made them for as long as i can remember and everyone loves them. I always make these when i have to bring a dessert to a party and they always disappear. And they are easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I've enjoyed these homemade cakes since I was little as we found the recipe in a cookbook put out by a local high school band as a fundraiser. Throughout the years we've misplaced the book, but I have to say that this recipe is the better than what we originally made. Our recipe called for a bag of melted milk chocolate chips rather than the candy bars...I still use that method today and microwave the milk and butter together even though some don't. I also quick set the peanut butter in the freezer but only set the chocolate in the fridge as using the chips makes the chocolate harder to cut. These don't last long at the house or at bake sales, let me tell ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Fan-Freaking-tastic i only used about three quarters of a pound of chocolate bars ( the ones made in Hershey P.A.) And the choosey mothers peanut butter and wow what a treat ! I have not had true Tandy Cakes in 20 years and they tasted ALMOST exactly as i remember. Watch cake cooking time my oven was faster. Cut while chocolate is still melty and use parchement. EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
well for me i have to agree with the reviewer that said the cake was chewey,it had a funny texture but it was moist..lol it wasnt bad but it wasnt great! i might make again with another cake recipe*Ok Updated* I tried a piece the next day an the cake seemed much better it didnt have that chewey texture! i will make it again using this cake i will just make it a day ahead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
fabulous. it's that simple. fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
OMG, these are awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States