Tandy Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Too much chocolate, next time I make this it will be just 1 pound of chocolate. Otherwise, the recipe Is right on target.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I had this recipe in my favorite cookbook.I made this for years.Lost the cookbook.I used this recipe,but messed up used 2 cups of milk.They didn't turn out right.But will try again these are hubby's favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Deen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've tried this recipe twice, the first time I used chocolate chips and they did harden too much and crack when I cut them but not too bad. The second time I used chocolate bars like the recipe suggested and it was terrible, the chocolate cracked and flaked way too much when I cut it. It taste great but the chocolate bars do not work very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
This recipe was awesome. My husband asked for a Tastycake KandyKake cake for fathers day. I tried this recipe and it was incredible!! Its hard to please everyone in my house, but this did it! I read the reviews and some said that the cake was bland, but we didnt think so. It was my favorite part!!! I followed the recipe exactly and did use some tips the reviews gave such as scoring the chocolate, it did make it much easier to cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Fantastic, but I did make a few modifications. I made them as cupcakes so they were easier to take to a picnic. And I made a few changes in the topping... Instead of plain peanut butter, I blended the peanut butter with butter and powdered sugar. This made it a tad sweeter and creamier. I also used chocolate chips for the topping, but to prevent the hardening issue just add a few drops of canola oil to them when melting in the microwave. The chocolate will be creamy and easy to spread, but will still harden up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This recipe is great! I made it in a 9x13 cake pan and if using this size I would recommend lowering the peanut butter amount back to 1c. I also used all the leftover Hershey's eggs and kisses from Easter for the chocolate topping and it worked perfectly -- double bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I never have any leftovers when I make this recipe! Only thing I do differently is add more peanut butter. Also - for those looking to save a little money on the chocolate, I use Hershey's milk chocolate chips. Work just as well as the candy bars and are MUCH cheaper! Be sure to get Hershey's brand only - generic milk chocolate chips don't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
I split b/w two smaller pans and put 1 bag of choc. Chips per cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I just attempted to make this and it started off well. The cake was baking beautifully and only had about another ten minutes or so to bake. I went to check on it and somehow it liquified to this buttery looking mess. I have no idea what happended, i followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I bake these dessert bars any time I need a quick and yummy dessert. Everyone loves them! The cake is moist, fluffy, and sweet and the chocolate and peanut butter combo is perfect. I plan on making these forever using this exact recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States