Tandoori Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
I didn't have allspice, but I found some Garam Masala in my pantry that I bought at an Indian store some time ago. I also grilled the chicken instead of baking. DELICIOUS!!! Marinate, then forget about it and the next day you have an amazing dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
I followed the advise of a previous review and combined some of both Chicken Tandoori 1 with 2 and took the breasts to a cook out. We loved it. I would not use quite as much lemon juice the next time I make this, but it is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2002
I combined the two Tandoori recipes (I and II) to make a wonderful combination. I substituted the spices from II for the allspice in this one. First time I did include the vege oil and the vinegar and forgot it the second time. I prefer it without, but that's just me :) I am not very good with rice - it kept turning up dry, but if I can figure out how to keep it moist, then I am sure I'l like this dish even more. Meanwhile it might be good to try it buttered noodles or something. In any case, this is a definite keeper. I love it, and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Excellent and easy. Just takes a bit of forthought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was pretty good. I used garam marsala instead of five spice, and chicken wings coz I had no chicken breasts. I slit the wings to get some of the marinate into the meat. I grilled the chicken in the oven for about 45 mins. Good with jasmine rice, but I suggest you make some other side dish coz this is too dry to eat alone with rice. Left overs can be used to make sandwiches or pita bread fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I used a Tandoori spice blend I bought at the grocery store, combined with the lemon juice and yogurt idea of this recipe. I didn't really measure but used about 1-2 cups greek yogurt with probably 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice. I used 5-6 tsp of the spice blend, mixed it all together and marinated my chicken thighs for around 2 hours then baked. Personally, I don't think you can get anywhere near a real Tandoori flavor with just ground Allspice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NorCalRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carnation, Washington, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Didn't look, smell or taste like any tandoori chicken I ever had...maybe something was left out of the recipe? Anyway, the leftovers were excellent in Julie's Chicken Salad from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I found the proportion of the Allspice WAY TOO OVERPOWERING for the dish. Luckily, I sampled the sauce before I marinated the chicken in it, so I took some liberties and added a bit more yogurt, one teaspoon of sugar, and a handful (1/2 c maybe??) of shredded coconut to the mix, and that toned down the bitterness of it. Even still, my family found the dish too spicy and didn't eat much of it. I did not read the reviews ahead of time, like I usually do. I definitely think a different combination of spices would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I either failed miserably or like a different region of Indian cooking...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States