Tan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
WOW. Long ago a friend's mom made this for us as an after-school snack, and I've been searching for this recipe! So very delicious! DO NOT BE AFRAID to try this recipe. So simple, versatile, healthy & tasty! Be sure to stir the dressing ingredients until the sugar dissolves completely. Eat this on its own, or toss w/ some salad greens & top w/crumbled blue cheese & toasted pecans (serve w/ some extra dressing). Instead of dicing the apples, simply slice them and toss w/ dressing in a ziploc bag - makes a great snack for kids. Different & special. REALLY DELICIOUS!! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is SO GOOD! I would have never thought to do this, but it is terrific! When summer comes around I'll try strawberries, yummy. *Update* I have since put these apples on a bed of mixed greens with shaved parmesan cheese on top for a knockout of a salad! Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
What a delish combo! I used braeburn apples, and added black pepper due to others recommendations! It was fabulous...I even added some cayenne for added kick but will reduce the balsamic next time b/c it was a little too much for me. I'm a crazy balsamic fan but this sort of stung the nostrils! I served it over baby spinach, added some chopped cashews and feta cheese...no dressing needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, but not as good as I'd expected. Next time I'll try it with a little less balsamic vinegar. I love balsamic, but a little goes a long way. I think that it might also be important to use very coarsely ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I'm so glad that I read the ratings on this recipe. The rater that said "DO NOT BE AFRAID" to try this won me over. I LOVED THIS tart and tangy way to eat fruit. I will eat apples more often now. I had red delicious on hand so used them. Used red wine vinegar and doubled the brown sugar for my taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Easy and delicious! I skipped the pepper, and made just enough for one serving. Makes a perfect snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laryssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I normally don't like fresh apples OR vinegar, but this recipe was shockingly FANTASTIC and super easy/quick!! In addition to experimenting with different fruits, you can also try variations on the vinegar. For example, I tried raspberry balsamic vinegar and it was delightful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
So glad I found this recipe again. I first used it with strawberries and it is the greatest! Like the other rater said, don't be afraid to try this. I know vinegar, sugar and pepper with fruits sounds awful but it really brings out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
i had high hopes for this one... i might try it again. i didnt care for it, i only give it the high rating b/c put it over greens and it makes a ok salad w/dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I thought it sounded odd, but it was SO good. I didn't change a thing. P.S. Thanks to the reviewer who told us not to be afraid of trying it - you won me over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States