Tan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, but not as good as I'd expected. Next time I'll try it with a little less balsamic vinegar. I love balsamic, but a little goes a long way. I think that it might also be important to use very coarsely ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
NEVER WOULD HAVE THOUGHT THAT THIS COMBO WOULD BE SOOOOOO GOOD!! I AM A HUGE BASALMIC VINEGAR FAN AND PUT THIS ON EVERYTHING FROM FRUIT,SALADS, AND EVEN COOKED MEAT. MY HUBBY THOUGHT THE VINEGAR WAS VERY STRONG. I USED SPLENDA BROWN SUGAR AND IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is SO GOOD! I would have never thought to do this, but it is terrific! When summer comes around I'll try strawberries, yummy. *Update* I have since put these apples on a bed of mixed greens with shaved parmesan cheese on top for a knockout of a salad! Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I'm so glad that I read the ratings on this recipe. The rater that said "DO NOT BE AFRAID" to try this won me over. I LOVED THIS tart and tangy way to eat fruit. I will eat apples more often now. I had red delicious on hand so used them. Used red wine vinegar and doubled the brown sugar for my taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
Yummy!Yummy! Sweet & tangy! So simple & easy. What a wonderful health addiction I have here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I thought it sounded odd, but it was SO good. I didn't change a thing. P.S. Thanks to the reviewer who told us not to be afraid of trying it - you won me over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is surprisingly good. I think it's more of a chick snack. My boyfriend wasn't too crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Saw this intriguing recipe in the recent reviews & I was hungry for a snack so I gave it a whirl. I cut it down to one serving & used a braeburn apple. I think the tartness of a granny smith w/ the tartness of the vinegar would have been too much for me...I think the sweet/tart aspect of the braeburn was perfect. I added more brown sugar to mine because it was still a little tart for my tastes. I loved the slight bite of the pepper...it was a really good component to the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
Thank you so much for this recipe, it was exactly what I was looking for. I like apples, but I'm not crazy about them, so I wanted a recipe that would make them taste a little better for my taste buds since apples are so good for you. This was simple and fast; perfect for a healthy snack. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I used red wine vinegar and it tasted just fine. I will try balsamic next time. After I mixed it all in a bowl, I topped it off with just a pinch of cinnamon and sugar...yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
So glad I found this recipe again. I first used it with strawberries and it is the greatest! Like the other rater said, don't be afraid to try this. I know vinegar, sugar and pepper with fruits sounds awful but it really brings out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States