Tan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
WOW. Long ago a friend's mom made this for us as an after-school snack, and I've been searching for this recipe! So very delicious! DO NOT BE AFRAID to try this recipe. So simple, versatile, healthy & tasty! Be sure to stir the dressing ingredients until the sugar dissolves completely. Eat this on its own, or toss w/ some salad greens & top w/crumbled blue cheese & toasted pecans (serve w/ some extra dressing). Instead of dicing the apples, simply slice them and toss w/ dressing in a ziploc bag - makes a great snack for kids. Different & special. REALLY DELICIOUS!! Try it, you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This is SO GOOD! I would have never thought to do this, but it is terrific! When summer comes around I'll try strawberries, yummy. *Update* I have since put these apples on a bed of mixed greens with shaved parmesan cheese on top for a knockout of a salad! Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
What a delish combo! I used braeburn apples, and added black pepper due to others recommendations! It was fabulous...I even added some cayenne for added kick but will reduce the balsamic next time b/c it was a little too much for me. I'm a crazy balsamic fan but this sort of stung the nostrils! I served it over baby spinach, added some chopped cashews and feta cheese...no dressing needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was pretty good, but not as good as I'd expected. Next time I'll try it with a little less balsamic vinegar. I love balsamic, but a little goes a long way. I think that it might also be important to use very coarsely ground pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
I'm so glad that I read the ratings on this recipe. The rater that said "DO NOT BE AFRAID" to try this won me over. I LOVED THIS tart and tangy way to eat fruit. I will eat apples more often now. I had red delicious on hand so used them. Used red wine vinegar and doubled the brown sugar for my taste. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grancooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enid, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Easy and delicious! I skipped the pepper, and made just enough for one serving. Makes a perfect snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laryssa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I normally don't like fresh apples OR vinegar, but this recipe was shockingly FANTASTIC and super easy/quick!! In addition to experimenting with different fruits, you can also try variations on the vinegar. For example, I tried raspberry balsamic vinegar and it was delightful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
So glad I found this recipe again. I first used it with strawberries and it is the greatest! Like the other rater said, don't be afraid to try this. I know vinegar, sugar and pepper with fruits sounds awful but it really brings out the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
i had high hopes for this one... i might try it again. i didnt care for it, i only give it the high rating b/c put it over greens and it makes a ok salad w/dressing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I'm so glad I tried this recipe. I thought it sounded odd, but it was SO good. I didn't change a thing. P.S. Thanks to the reviewer who told us not to be afraid of trying it - you won me over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

How to Make Kale Salad

Transform a slightly bitter green into something truly delicious.

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States