Tam's Black Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I left out the hot beef link sausage and used dried peas. This was awesome. The smoked turkey leg gave a far superior flavor than my usual smoked ham hock. Will make this my standard recipe for black-eyed peas. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Very tasty! I made these black eyed peas for Thanksgiving dinner and it was a huge hit! I used dried peas as well. I used only one diced sausage link and the smoked turkey leg. Honestly, the turkey leg by itself is probably good enough for seasoning these peas. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Made this for New Years 2010! Absolutely the best!!! I truly don't think you could top this. I couldn't find a smoked turkey leg so I used a smoked turkey sausage and I added all the last hour the peas were cooking. I also used dried black eyed peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best black eyed peas ever! I'm a vegetarian, so I left out the turkey and the sausage, but everything else I cooked as directed. I served it with turnip greens and the homesteader's cornbread from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I know I made a pot of black-eyed peas last year and I used a recipe on AR but I couldn't remember which one and I guess I forgot to rate it. Used this recipe with some changes (namely a leftover ham bone instead of the turkey leg) and used another recipe on here (CB's) for the method in a slow cooker. Thanks for the inspiration---just tasted some and they were delish! Happy New Year! Thanks, Tam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Great recipe Tam! Glad to see someone remembers hot water cornbread. I am a Texas raised country boy with influences in food from deep east Texas as well as Louisiana! To me, nothing finer on earth than good old country, soul food and REAL Mexican food (not that Tex-Mex stuff). Even though I do need a dose of TM every so often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I used dried black-eyed peas and just smoked turkey necks (no turkey legs or sausage). Very good. Boiled turkey necks and other ingredients for about an hour, poured peas in and simmered for about 1.5 hours, and it turned out fabulously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe ever! I will cook this for my family for years to come! Thank you for sharing it! Happy New Year :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States