Tam's Black Eye Peas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
this was my first time making black eyed peas that didn't come out of a can and they taste amazing! I used smoked turkey wings instead of a leg and no beef sausage (my father doesn't eat red meat) and I diced some green peppers in as well. I also used dried beans instead of frozen. So pleased with my first attempt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
WOW! This was the best Black eyed peas recipe I have ever tasted. Made them for NYE and everyone loved them. I made them exactly to the recipe and I could not have hoped for better results. Thanks so much for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Loved Loved Loved the only thing I did differently was leave out the sausage. My daughter never eats beans but she ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
These are out of control GOOD! You can spice them up however but don't leave out the turkey leg! I didn't use sausage, added some bay leaves and celery and used a broth/water combo. I will probably reduce the amount of liquid by atleast a cup next time. YUMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Best black eyed peas ever! I'm a vegetarian, so I left out the turkey and the sausage, but everything else I cooked as directed. I served it with turnip greens and the homesteader's cornbread from this site. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel's Page

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is the best black eyed pea recipe ever! I will cook this for my family for years to come! Thank you for sharing it! Happy New Year :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I know I made a pot of black-eyed peas last year and I used a recipe on AR but I couldn't remember which one and I guess I forgot to rate it. Used this recipe with some changes (namely a leftover ham bone instead of the turkey leg) and used another recipe on here (CB's) for the method in a slow cooker. Thanks for the inspiration---just tasted some and they were delish! Happy New Year! Thanks, Tam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
I am saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was delicious!!! My family loved it. I only used 2 hot links, but the flavor was still great. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Slow Cooker Spicy Black-Eyed Peas

Make flavorful, Mexican-inspired black-eyed peas in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States