Tamra's Microwave Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Was looking for something fast & easy to do with tilapia and this fit the bill. Substituted 1/2 t dried tarragon for the fresh. Fish was a tad overcooked, maybe 3 minutes would have done it? Overall, the recipe worked but we just didn't care for the taste. The cider vinegar seemed to overpower the dish. Maybe this should be left off entirely? It's easy, but this one won't be a do-over at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This is delicious - we didn't add the vinegar (which is what, I suspect, the people who reviewed this poorly, didn't like). This is an easy way to prepare fish - we will make often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
WE TRIED THIS AND WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE GREATEST, QUICK AND EASY AND VERY TASTY. MY HUBBY DOESNT LIKE TILAPIA BUT HE LOVED THIS. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK TAMARA THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I liked the way the tilapia didn't have that fishy taste it usually has. I subtracted one minute from the cooking time because you definitely don't want to overcook fish. My daughter didn't like the tilapia but I thought it was delicious (kids can be reluctant to try new dishes, especially ones with 'green stuff' so use this recipe for adults unless you have an adventurous kid). I used the version of the recipe for two people and thought that two tablespoons of cider vinegar was just right, one for each fish. If you're making more than two servings, just pour a tablespoon of vinegar on each fish rather than measuring the total amount. Finally, cook it just before serving; don't let it get cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We loved this! I used 2 thin filets & they were done with just the 2 minutes. I used dried Tarragon (didn't have fresh) and just a few drops of the vinegar. My husband said "this is good, we should make fish tacos with it". I'm going to do that for my lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Aurrgh! I meant to take a photo, but we ate it too quickly! I am always shy about microwave recipes (especially fish), but was really late making dinner and had exactly a pound of tilapia to cook, so I was so happy to find this easy recipe. My 4 year old son said no thank you, but my 2 year old ate it up & his portion, too. The flavor was perfect. When I flipped the fish, though, there wasn't any liquid to spread over the 2nd side, so I basically repeated the recipe, with a little less of everything--it was perfect. We did 2 min on one side & 1 1/2 minutes on the other side--perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is surprisingly good! Like other skeptics, I wasn't sure about microwaving fish, but I only had a few minutes to come up with something for lunch and I had some tilapia fillets in the fridge. I didn't have any apple cider so I put a splash of lemon juice on each fillet before cooking, and fillets were gobbled down by myself and the kids in about the same time it took to cook them! They were especially tasty with fresh tarragon from my garden. My fillets took the full 4 minutes of cooking time, but I did check them after flipping them as it seems that other reviewers took only 3 total minutes. Must depend on the thickness of the fillets. I also put a pinch of kosher salt on each fillet after cooking and that made them just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieCritter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I had no idea you could microwave fish. This is a 5-star recipe for what it is--quick microwave cooking. It came out perfectly. I went light on the apple cider vinegar because of some negative comments in the reviews, and I ended up adding more after I started eating it. The flavor blended very well with the other flavors, and next time I'll put the whole amount on right away. I used dried tarragon, but would love to try it with fresh. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
this was a bit bland. the only thing i did differently was to use dried tarragon instead of fresh. we sprinkled penzey's 4S seasoned salt on it and that helped. it was definitely fast, and if you're OK with adding spices after tasting it, this is a good, quick dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Awesome! Fast, easy, and delicious! I also put some Mrs. Dash Lemon and Garlic seasoning on it as well as some sea salt. Great with rice! I will be making this A LOT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States