Tamra's Microwave Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Was looking for something fast & easy to do with tilapia and this fit the bill. Substituted 1/2 t dried tarragon for the fresh. Fish was a tad overcooked, maybe 3 minutes would have done it? Overall, the recipe worked but we just didn't care for the taste. The cider vinegar seemed to overpower the dish. Maybe this should be left off entirely? It's easy, but this one won't be a do-over at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
WE TRIED THIS AND WE THOUGHT IT WAS THE GREATEST, QUICK AND EASY AND VERY TASTY. MY HUBBY DOESNT LIKE TILAPIA BUT HE LOVED THIS. KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK TAMARA THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Delicious and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
No one in my family really cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
I have to say, this tasted better than I thought it would! I too substituted dried tarragon (just sprinkled some on top) but my microwave took longer (approx. 6 min.). Guess it depends on the microwave. My kids didn't go for it, but my husband & I did. Very quick & easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a very quick and easy recipe. My husband usually finds tilapia too fishy, but the garlic and apple cider vinegar gives better flavor. The only change I made is a little bit less vinegar, so it doesn't over power the fish too much. But overall, this is a wonderful and quick dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I replaces the butter and garlic with melted garlic butter. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
This is not something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I liked the way the tilapia didn't have that fishy taste it usually has. I subtracted one minute from the cooking time because you definitely don't want to overcook fish. My daughter didn't like the tilapia but I thought it was delicious (kids can be reluctant to try new dishes, especially ones with 'green stuff' so use this recipe for adults unless you have an adventurous kid). I used the version of the recipe for two people and thought that two tablespoons of cider vinegar was just right, one for each fish. If you're making more than two servings, just pour a tablespoon of vinegar on each fish rather than measuring the total amount. Finally, cook it just before serving; don't let it get cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
The tarragon flavor was good but otherwise the fish was bland and dry. Wouldn't make this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

How to Cook Tilapia

See how to cook this mild, versatile, and inexpensive white fish.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States