Tamra's Lemon Artichoke Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I changed up the recipe quite a bit, but it turned out delicious! I threw everything in the food processor including the artichokes, then stirred the parm cheese in at end. I had no lemon juice, but would have liked to add it and will next time. I also used ONLY Olive oil. I used only 1 garlic clove and it was PLENTY. as many have mentioned, 8 sounds like it would overpower everything. I also added 5 sun dried tomatoes to the food processor... yum! I had no walnuts, so used pine nuts and left out the cayenne for the kids. Used jared artichokes and they were fine. Also added a good bit black pepper. I felt the cilantro got lost, didn't taste it, so next time think I will add more and/or try with fresh Basil instead. I served this over pasta. I did add about 1 cup of pasta water to the pesto to thin it out, so it would nicely coat the pasta. Husband and both kids (age 6 &4) loved it! I have a small amount of the pesto that I set aside that I might use today as a spread or in a cold pasta salad. It's very versatile! Great recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
TOO MUCH GARLIC! I was making this event for a pot luck. I doubled the recipe, but when doing this I decided 16 cloves of garlic was too much. I cut it down to 10 (equivalent of 5 in the original recipe). This was still WAY TOO MUCH garlic. I had to heat the sauce a little, add more of all of the other ingredients to make this edible: I didn't want to be the one responsible for ruining everyone's breath at the pot luck. Other notes: You can use canned artichoke hearts, they're just as good, cheaper, easier to find, and less work. After remedying this recipe by cutting back on the garlic, this is awesome. When I make this recipe again, I'd use 3-4 cloves of garlic max. This recipe has excellent flavor, and it's an excellent budget pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
a nice light pasta dish, with a little twea might work well as a cold noodle dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I misread the directions and added the artichoke to the food processor so I ended up with a yummy hummus-like paste. I'll add a cup of the starchy pasta water to make more of a sauce. I agree with the other comments that this is VERY garlicky, and I only used 5 cloves. Otherwise nice flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Pretty good, not really a pesto sauce though! But I love lime and cilantro
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Super zesty and easy to make. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dontdoitjenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Fresh and delicious (and yes, garlicky!). I did use 8 cloves of garlic, but they were very small cloves. If I was making this again, I would probably use 4 regular-size cloves of garlic and have plenty of flavor. Still, it's all in the preference of the consumer. I loved this pesto, garlic breath and all. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used regular marinated artichokes as I've never seen frozen ones. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This was pretty good and fairly easy (we did it without a food processor so the consistency was a little off). Like others, we used basil instead of cilantro and just our two garlic cloves seemed a little much. We forgot to put in the walnuts, but I bet that would help counter some of the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
There is way too much garlic and it overpowers the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Arugula Pesto

See how to make pesto with peppery, full-flavored arugula instead of basil.

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States